The Robbery – Friday Fictioneers: 30Aug13

Written for the Friday Fictioneers. Story begins after the photo.

Genre: Science Fiction/Humor
Word Count: 99

Copyright – Dawn M. Miller

The Robbery

“Unbelievable,” said Klinger. “A jewelry counter with nobody watching.”

“Love it,” Replied Jones. “Start picking that lock. I’ll keep watch.”

Minutes passed by with Klinger sweating and cursing at the lock.

“What’s the problem?” Asked Owen.

“My fingers. I can’t feel the lock, and I keep missing!”

“Well, let’s do this the old-fashioned way.” Owen swung a hammer at the display case…

…And missed completely.

The follow-through carried the hammer straight to his knee. Owen collapsed, howling.

As Klinger crouched to help Owen, he felt a presence. He looked up. A smirking security guard quipped, “Like our new hologram, boys?”
_________________________________

The Friday Fictioneers writes 100 word flash fiction from an image prompt every week. Everyone is invited to join these intrepid souls. Here’s this week’s original prompt: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/30-august-2013/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Robbery – Friday Fictioneers: 30Aug13

  1. julie mc says:

    Are you sure it was Colonel Klink that was with Klinger? I think they need a new profession…

    Like

  2. Indira says:

    Superb, you always come up with an interesting story.

    Like

  3. claudia says:

    Good one on the reader!

    Like

  4. zookyworld says:

    Comeuppance for the thieves! A funny one!

    Like

  5. Here I thought they were just stupid!
    This made me LOL.

    Like

  6. List of X says:

    The ending totally caught me off guard.

    Like

  7. nightlake says:

    The security guard would have felt superior uttering those words:) a very good one

    Like

  8. julespaige says:

    Laughs from the belly! Really enjoyed this!

    Alastair used one of my own characters against me so I had to pull a rabbit out of the hat this week for the vamp story, here:
    http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/red-alert-friday-fictioneers-aug-30-2013-a-and-j-story/

    Like

  9. Carrie says:

    Awesome! Loved it 🙂

    Like

  10. Jan Brown says:

    A hologram — what a great idea!

    Like

  11. pattisj says:

    Very clever–a hologram! I wonder if this activity violates their parole…

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Could lead to some legal ambiguities, I suppose. They weren’t actually stealing something real, were they? A good lawyer could take advantage of that. But I suspect their public defender isn’t such a great lawyer. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  12. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear EagleAye,

    What a great story and fantastic ending. This was a surprise and i loved it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  13. Dear E.A.

    I love the visual feel to this story. I could just see these chuckleheads. And the ending? Masterful.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Chuckleheads. I haven’t heard that term in a while. It’s perfect for them. Glad you liked the ending. Thanks so much for your thoughts and encouraging words! 🙂

      Like

  14. Sarah Ann says:

    Very clever. Can’t wait for holograms to be installed everywhere.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

