Survival of the Scaredest – Alastair’s Photo Fiction

Written for Alastair’s Photo Fiction. Story begins after the photo

Genre: Science Fiction

Copyright: Alastair Forbes

Survival of the Scaredest

“I seen him right through there,” pointed Evan. “Like one a’ those dino-sores I seen on cable teevee.”

Lou reeled in his lure and cast again from the boat. “Sure it weren’t no gator?”

“Nope. Second time I seen it, it done came after me, runnin’ on two legs like a giant chicken. I rowed like hell for deeper water. But golldangit, the dang thing can swim! Lucky I can row faster scared than it can swim hungry.”

Lou looked at Evan blankly. “You been smoking them funny cigarettes again, aintcha?”

“No! I swear to God I saw it in the shallow water right thar.”

Lou began rowing to the shallows, “It’s called ‘survival of the fittest,’ Evan. And dinosaurs weren’t fittest. They all done died.”

“Don’t know about that. I do know ‘survival of the scaredest’ works best. And that dang thing scares me.”

Lou stepped out of the boat into knee-deep water. He held his arms out questioningly. “Where’s your dinosaur now, Evan?”

“Get back here, Lou. It ain’t safe!”

“I ain’t scared.”

That worked out perfectly for the 5’10” tall, 18′ long Utah Raptor waiting in the bushes. It charged through the shallow water and snapped the neck of the, obviously unfit, prey animal with a single bite. It was growing fast with all the easy prey shambling around.

Evan quickly rowed away to deep water accompanied by the sound of Lou’s breaking bones and tearing flesh.

Told you ‘survival of the scaredest’ works best, Lou.


___________________________________

Each week, Alastair Forbes presents an original image as writing prompt. 100-200 words are allowed (up to 400 in a literary emergency). Anyone can join, and this means YOU! Join us for fun and frolic in the fields of our imagination. Here’s this week’s prompt: http://alastairsphotofiction.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/photo-fiction-september-22nd-2013/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Survival of the Scaredest – Alastair’s Photo Fiction

  1. Hmmmmmmm…no bounce on the “cuteness” scale this time. But, it was very good nevertheless! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. high five and raspberries says:

    what’s truly amazing is that you were able to photograph the Utah raptor..used a high power zoom eh..thanks for the belly laugh

    Like

  3. Al says:

    That’s awesome. You can hear the accent when they’re talking. Survival of the scaredest and I can row fast scared than he can swim hungry. I love it.

    Thanks for taking part again.

    Like

  4. julespaige says:

    ‘Deliverance’ with a twist! I’ma guess them good ol’ boys are mighty tasty!
    I saw Deliverance – the best thing out of that movie was the dueling banjos. The rest…well…maybe then coulda done kept that nasty bit secret.

    More intrigue this week…maybe?
    http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/fitting-in-dixie-saga-alastairs-photo-fiction/

    Like

  5. Well done, I love the inclusion of the raptor.

    Like

  6. AnElephant just loved this jolly little tale!
    Well done.

    Like

  7. I like this. And I don’t think it’s politically incorrect. Having grown up in the Sigh-outh, I immediately began reading this in the dialect and it rang true. The only bit I thought might ruffle some feathers was “teevee,” even though that’s how it’s pronounced. Actually, it was probably always “on the cable TV.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!