Passing Intelligence – Friday Fictioneers

Written for the Friday Fictioneers. Story begins after the photo from Sandra Crook.

Genre: Espionage/Humor
Word Count: 100

Passing Intelligence

Italian intelligence liked to pass vital objects embedded in food. A key reason Kent requested this posting.

As he stood looking over the Coliseum, a passing vendor offered him conchiglioni. Kent gobbled up the stuffed shell with relish.

“Idiote!” cursed the vendor. “That contained the data card!”

“Hmm. I thought it was kinda crunchy. Can you make another copy?”

The vendor spat. “Be here in three days,” and he trundled off, cursing.

Kent remained, enjoying the sights and smells. The longer the job took, the longer he stayed in Rome. He his smacked lips. Maybe they’ll try manicotti next time.
___________________________

The Friday Frictioneers write up to 100 words from an image prompt, each week. Here’s this week’s prompt: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/11-october-2013/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Passing Intelligence – Friday Fictioneers

  1. julie mc says:

    I bet he dropped some BigData the next day. Pa-dum pum.

    Like

  2. Al says:

    Haha Julie said what I was going to lol. Well, something similar

    He’s a cheeky sod 🙂

    Like

  3. J. Milburn says:

    Ha! It seems foodies and spies don’t mix.

    Like

  4. That’s one spy who might wind up getting his stomach pumped by Robert Shaw in From Russia with Love, without the use of a stomach pump! Nice job.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah Robert Shaw is capable of anything. If Michael Caine were his spymaster, it could be similarly bad. Knowing Kent, he would just use it as an opportunity to fill his belly again with chicken parmigiana.

      Like

  5. Sandra says:

    The first line was a give-away, but I didn’t see it at the time. 🙂 Well done.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah it does give it away. One of the first lines I thought of was “Hmm. I thought it was kinda crunchy.” And then I just worked towards that. Thanks much for your thoughts. Great photo, by the way!

      Like

  6. Dear EagleAye,

    A tasty tale told a dinner time. Lovely work, Still laughing here. Thank you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  7. Dear E. A.

    Passing intelligence indeed…although I’m not sure there was much intelligence involved. I give this story a flush and a wipe as I go away giggling. Well done sir.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      All the intelligence was in the data chip, and now it’s forgotten in Kent’s belly. Kind of a metaphor for American society these days, eh? I’m glad you got a giggle out of it. That’s the whole idea. Thank you so much!

      Like

  8. annisik51 says:

    I only wish you’d carried this through to its logical conclusion: the day where, having figured his scam, it isn’t a data card they hide in the food. 🙂 It would make a great cartoon.

    Like

  9. I thought the title had a third possible meaning, that intelligence had passed Kent by. No matter, it’s fun all ways.

    janet

    Like

  10. You know, the title is just perfect, darling. This was so clever. I have missed reading your stories, you have such a delightful sense of humour.

    Like

  11. Eena says:

    Haha I wasnt expecting that! Great one. Makes me want to educate my taste buds.

    Like

  12. Indira says:

    Amazing, How you come up with such funny ideas. lOl.

    Like

  13. pattisj says:

    I wonder why my high school guidance counselor never advised me of jobs like that? You’re always good for a fun read. 🙂

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

