Orb Weaver Spiders

Arachnophobes should not look at the following pics. On a recent hike, we discovered a number of large Orb Weaver spiders. Chunky ones, bigger than your thumb. We even witnessed a “territorial discussion” between two of them.

IMG_1833

IMG_1831

IMG_1843

This one was building a web high overhead. We couldn’t see the web, so it appeared to float in mid-air.
IMG_1737

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Orb Weaver Spiders

  1. Impower You says:

    I like spiders well enough, though I admit to being scared of them as a kid. It seems silly to still be sacred as an adult. Just this weekend I was walking with my family and had to stop them from squashing a big wood spider that was outside. It wasn’t even bothering us, but they were really freaked out. A spider is more scared of us than we should ever be of it. I say unless a spider is poisonous and in your way, let it be.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      I agree. Spiders are a part of our natural world and should be respected and cared for as much as any creature. For me, if a spider is “over there” I’m very cool with it. A spider “on me” is quite another story. That’s when I get freaked. While in their web like this one was, I think they’re interesting.

      Like

  2. pattisj says:

    Their discussions don’t always end well!

    Like

  3. Great photos!! Wow! What’s the odds to see two in discussion. I’ve never witnessed such meeting in person.

    Like

  4. Al says:

    These are great photos

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    That is the inspiration for a few movies, I dare say. Now my skin is crawling. Beautiful and terrifying at the same time.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

