Auspicious Lion – Sunday Photo Fiction

Written for Sunday Photo Fiction. A story about a painful sense of humor begins after the photo.

Genre: Science Fiction/Humor

Copyright: Alastair Forbes

Auspicious Lion

Jun licked her left incisor, directing her implant to open a radio channel. “I could use some help here, Fuzzy!” She barely dodged another lightning fast punch. She’d been hit by a few and it felt like being hit by a battering ram.

“On my way,” replied Fuzzy. The coms signal was relayed directly to her brain and not audible.

“Who are you talking to?…Oomph!” asked the centaur-like Kelleran as one of Jun’s kicks got through. “I scanned the area. You have no friends here.”

Jun’s hit to the torso meant little. She needed to hit the Llamaesque body to effect some damage. She maneuvered and avoided the question. “I thought your species were tinkerers, not fighters.”

“Fool! An entire race of tinkerers? Who would heal the sick? Defend the colonies? You humans always generalize.”

“Isn’t that a generalization?” Where are you, Fuzzy? I’m getting beaten here. She counter-punched and hit the Kelleran’s comically Kangeroo-ish head. He snarled and counter-counter-punched, directly striking her cheek. She flew 6 feet and landed, semi-conscious, beneath a Ruìshī (Auspicious Lion) statue.

“Is that all?” spat the Kelleran. He raised his leg for a killing kick.

Through hazy vision, Jun watched the Ruìshī’s foreleg launch a punch, far quicker than the Kelleran’s. It struck the alien’s muzzle and crumpled the bone. The Kelleran’s eyes rolled and he collapsed. Jun saw the stone Ruìshī lose it’s shape and become the familiar wolf form…of Fuzzy.

Jun groaned. The war machine’s “fur” could do everything from altering his external shape to absorbing the waves of radar scans. “You were here the whole time?”

Fuzzy looked like, and enjoyed behaving like, a dog; albeit one five-feet tall at the shoulder. He licked her wounds. “Kelleran scanners are very good. I wanted to be sure I could defeat them.”

“He was beating the crap out of me!”

Briefly, he changed into the form of Ruìshī. “I was waiting for an auspicious moment.”

Jun grimaced “Your sense of humor is killing me, you know that?”
______________________________________

Author’s note: The Chinese Shishi (Stone Lion) statues come in several varieties. Auspicious Lion is only one of them. Check out Wiki for fascinating info on
Chinese Guardian Lions.

Each Sunday, Alastair Forbes presents an original photo as a writing prompt. Stories and poems may be 100-200 words long (400 if the literary gods demand). Join us for fun and frolic in the fevered fruit of our imagination. Here’s this week’s prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/sunday-photo-fiction-december-1st-2013/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Auspicious Lion – Sunday Photo Fiction

  1. Al says:

    I loved that story. Excellent.

    Thanks for the info on the Auspicious Lion. I knew it was something to do with the Chinese as it sits outside a Chinese restaurant. I didn’t realise it had meaning. Very auspicious hehe. Loved that 😉

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Alastair! I’m planning a much longer piece with these characters. I’m glad my test run appealed.

      Chinese culture has a lot of fascinating details. I enjoy the mythology of it and sharing the stories with others. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Indira says:

    In your stories how could you write about punches and fighting with so much details, are you a boxer or wrestler? Just curious. Excellent story, Waiting for auspicious moment, funny.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      No, but I’m a fan of boxing. Been watching it since I was a kid. I also read a lot of action-oriented Scifi, so I get a lot of details from that. Glad you enjoyed it, it’s good to hear. 🙂

      Like

  3. Lyn says:

    I think I like “Fuzzy” almost as much as I like his cousin “Chummy” 😀

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

