Persuasion – Write At The Merge

Written for Write At The Merge. This is my first effort for this writing challenge. A story of new technology overcoming…resistance, begins after the photo.

Genre: Science Fiction

Persuasion

“Welcome, Monsieur Geroux!” said Patterson. “My cafe is honored.”

“The honor is mine” Patterson joined him, as the portly Geroux sat at the offered table and sighed, smiling.  “Ah! THIS is what I like. No stainless steel, no robots running about, just wood and plants and familiar things.”

“I’m aware of your distaste for modern restaurant techniques. I believe it was in Piquant magazine that you said, ‘Food made by robotic cooks is not food at all. I’d rather starve.’ ”

“Yes of course, and I stand by it!”

“The difference is so profound?” said Patterson.

“It is clear to me immediately. A single bite and I will know.”

“You’ll be happy to know we don’t use mechanization. Ah!” Patterson paused as the server, Marie, laid several plates before Geroux. “I took the liberty of ordering our finest breakfast for you.”

“Very thoughtful!” Geroux began to eat, tentatively at first, then with gusto.

Patterson began to worry at the silence, waiting until Geroux finished. “Well, Monsieur?”

“Magnifique!” bellowed Geroux. “The Quiche Lorraine was perfect, so creamy. The flavors blended effortlessly. And these strawberries. So plump and full of flavor. Where did you get them? I must meet your cook and shake the hand of a genius!”

“I’m afraid that’s not possible,” murmured Patterson with a smile.

“Why not?”

“I must admit I’ve deceived you slightly. No cooking robots were used as promised, but this food was made with nanotechnology.”

“Nano what?”

“Microscopic machines. They assembled this food atom by atom. It’s good, no?”

“You mean I have eaten those tiny demons? Pwah! Pwah!”

“No, monsieur. The machines were long gone. You literally ate Quiche Lorraine, just made differently than anywhere else in the world. I hope to receive your blessing for this technology in your next restaurant review.”

Geroux snatched a knife and stood up, furious. “You said nothing of this. You’ve poisoned me!

Geroux experienced a dizzy spell and shook his head. The plates were gone, and he realized he and Patterson sat at the other end of the table. “What happened?”

“You were about to become violent, monsieur. I had to stop you. Monsieur Geroux, I can not only make food, I can make living things like a perfectly healthy chicken for instance.”

“What does a chicken have to do with you poisoning me?”

“When you become difficult to persuade, my nanos disassembled you, and remade you again.” Patterson gestured at three piles of silvery dust on three chairs. “You’ve been difficult to persuade.”

Geroux looked panicked. “I died?”

“Only temporarily. Within minutes the nanos remade you, complete with memories. You are well, no?”

Geroux patted himself, eyes wide. “Incredible!”

“As you can see this technology is safe, and the food is amazing. So. What do you think?”

Geroux looked furtively at the dust piles and nodded. “Very well. You will receive a positive review.”

As Geroux drove away, Marie asked Patterson, “Will he keep his promise?”

Patterson shrugged. “If not, we will have to persuade him further!”
______________________
Each week, Write At The Merge inspires writers with writing prompts for works up to 500 words long. Here’s this week’s writing prompt: http://writeonedge.com/2013/12/write-at-the-merge-week-49/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Persuasion – Write At The Merge

  1. Great story! I really enjoyed it. Loved the twist. More please!

    Like

  2. List of X says:

    So, umm, how much are you supposed to tip each one of the billion nanowaiters serving your food? 🙂

    Like

  3. Ah, for the power of the gods in the hands of the self-serving … well, not completely self-serving, in this case. Well done, and a very nice twist, as always.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah, when nanotechnology matures, it’ll make nuclear weapons seem like kid’s toys. At the same time, it’s power for good will be equally amazing. Luckily, Patterson intends no serious harm in this case, but he’s still a pretty scary guy in my estimation. Thanks much for the kind words and for stopping in and commenting! 🙂

      Like

  4. Indira says:

    Superb imagination. To what extent people can go to get good review. Just one point what dish is Quiche Lorraine? Could not follow.

    Like

  5. Spooky and timely – Reminds me of the meat made in the lab, which I hope never to have to eat.

    Like

  6. Mmmm…nanotech quiche.

    Love the slightly silly nature of this piece.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. It is a bit silly, and intended to be so, but just you wait. We may have nanotech foods in the future. When that happens, as you can see, the transition may be a bit rocky.

      Thanks much for stopping in!

      Like

  7. angela says:

    How enjoyable! I wasn’t expecting anything like this at all when I chose the prompts, and that really is my favorite part of reading through the selections. I loved the creativity – and fun – you infused here.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      So glad to hear you enjoyed it! People having fun is what I’m aiming for. Thank you so much for the complimentary thoughts. I had fun with this challenge. Expect to see me back for the next one. 🙂

      Like

  8. Pingback: Write at the Merge Wrap Up, Week 49 | Write On Edge

Don't be shy. Say something!

