The Long Mission – Sunday Photo Fiction

Written for Sunday Photo Fiction. A story about an unexpected change in alien mission parameters begins after the photo.

Genre: Science Fiction/Humor

Photo by: Alastair Forbes

The Long Mission

“I don’t know how much more of this I can take,” said Irxult.

“You’ve got to keep it together. We can find fuel, I know it,” replied Quoxa.

“Being cooped up like this will drive me mad!”

Ever since they ran out of fuel and landed on Earth, the aliens had been carried from place to place, with no one quite knowing what their spacecraft truly was. At one time, they were exhibited as the first Elephant hearing aid, then finally displayed as a mere model of an exploration craft.

“It scares me when the aliens move in close,” muttered Irxult. “Their heads alone mass more than our spaceship.”

“Oh look at that one. Is that a weapon?”

“Well, it’s black and has a cylindrical end which it seems to be aiming at us.”

“It’s squinting one eye and sighting with the other,” fretted Quoxa. “It IS a weapon!”

“We’re gonna die!”

They held each other in panic. “It’s been an honor to serve with you,” said Irxult.

“We could’ve had babies!” wailed Quoxa.

*flash*

“Wait. We’re not dead,” said Quoxa.

“It wasn’t a weapon at all,” said Irxult. “And what was that about babies? I thought you were all business.”

“I didn’t want you to think I’m easy.”

“You mean…?”

“I’ve been madly in love since I first saw you,” Quoxa shyly confessed.

“I don’t know what to say.”

“There’s something else. I’ve falsified the fuel report. We can leave any time.”

“But why?”

“I didn’t want the mission to end, I just wanted…”

“You know, this isn’t such a bad place. The humans are quite entertaining,” mused Irxult.

“We could study them!”

“Yes,” said Irxult, embracing her warmly. “And each other too.”
___________________________
Each week, Alastair Forbes presents an original photo for Sunday Photo Fiction as a writing prompt. Anyone can join us and that’s why you should too! Here’s this week’s writing prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2014/02/02/sunday-photo-fiction-february-2nd-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Long Mission – Sunday Photo Fiction

  1. Al says:

    Awww how sweet 🙂

    Like

  2. helenmidgley says:

    So glad to see romance isn’t restricted to humans, lol. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Long Mission – Sunday Photo Fiction | Todd DeanTodd Dean

  4. Indira says:

    Happy ending, So sweet.

    Like

  5. Lyn says:

    LOL great story and I love the ending 🙂

    Like

  6. Shey says:

    nice twist to a love story.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

