Fun with Spinning Things

At a recent fair we attended, Shey and I tried out a photography trick with Ferris wheels. The Ferris wheel we shot had a complex array of lights that shone in complex, ever-changing patterns. To get the desired artistic effect from the lights, we dropped ISO down to 100 (yes, at night), shutter speed to about 1 second, F-stop at 5.6. We had quite a bit of fun with this.

Ferris Wheel with normal settings
IMG_3384

Fun with Ferris Wheels (Could’ve been better with a tripod, but we made do)
IMG_3429

IMG_3434

IMG_3437

IMG_3440

The Hard Rock ride
IMG_3456

IMG_3458

A Spinning Hard Rock ride
IMG_3425

A Carousel
IMG_3466

A Spinning Carousel
IMG_3481

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fun with Spinning Things

  1. JulieMc says:

    Gorgeous. Did you get my text?

    Like

  2. Pat(ricia) says:

    Awesome images – even without a tripod, it can be so cool to just “play” and well – one has to admit – there is an almost surreal unearthly quality to the spinning images. Totally fun :0

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you, Pat! I was a lot of fun. These are just some of the images. I took a lot. Every time I took a shot, I got a different result. So entertaining. I’m glad you enjoyed them. šŸ™‚

      Like

      • Pat(ricia) says:

        It’s amazing how much we can find when shooting one single subject matter and just playing around. I remember a time -way back when I was in the thick of my photography journey – where the “simplest” of subjects kept me fascinated for hours and days, even weeks and years on end. It’s never the same thing twice. gotta love that šŸ™‚

        Glad that YOU and Shey had such a good time with this adventure šŸ™‚

        Like

      • EagleAye says:

        I believe that is the essence of photography. Thanks so much, Pat. šŸ˜‰

        Like

  3. Shey says:

    Cool images EA. šŸ™‚

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

