Scrubjay Wash Day

IMG_4572

Jay and Jayson Scrubjay stood watch at the top of the tree. Jay’s eyes were watering a bit. Finally he said, “Uh dude. Would you get downwind from me?”

“Sure, but why?”

“You don’t notice?

“Notice what?”

“When was your last bath?”

Jayson shrugged. “I don’ know.”

“Yeeeeah. You see that’s a problem. Why don’t you take some time out for a refreshing bath?”

“Really? You’ll be okay by yourself?”

“Yes…*gag*…honestly, I’ll be fine without you.”

Jayson set off and soon found a nice place to bathe.

IMG_4703
Jayson took careful aim and leaped in.
IMG_4711

IMG_4714
Wash.
IMG_4720

IMG_4729
Rinse.
IMG_4730
That’s better.
IMG_4728
Now where did I leave my towel?
IMG_4725

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Scrubjay Wash Day

  1. Shey says:

    Great story to go with your awesome set of photos.

    Like

  2. pattisj says:

    Cute story! Great capture of him jumping in. They’re so much fun to watch in the water.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Oh yes, big smiles from us as we watched this. We’ve never photographed scrubjays before, ever, and then suddenly today we see them all over. It was a scrubjay day. Thanks for stopping in to visit!

      Like

  3. Madhura says:

    Very cute.. Lovely photos, and an entertaining story! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Wow! This is so cool!!! I have so many scrub Jays visiting my yard but I’ve never witnessed any of them taking a bath. I have a bird bath, but it is out in the open. Looks like I need to put the bath under a tree. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Maybe so. Birds in the birdbath are always fun to watch. This bird was having a great time and so was I while photographing him. Thanks for stopping in to have a look and leave a message. It’s always good to have a visit from you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Indira says:

    Lovely photos with lovely story.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

