The Bulls – Friday Fictioneers

Written for the Friday Fictioneers. A story, about reestablishing contact with a lost colony, begins after the photo.

Genre: Science Fiction/Humor

Photo by: DLovering

The Bulls

“As you can see,” said Don Acevedo with a sweep of his arm. “Though New Barcelona lost touch with Earth for 300 years, we’ve not lost our Spanish heritage.”

“Impressive,” said Martinez, still wearing his spacesuit. Everything looked like Spain, except everyone’s hat was so wide.

“And, especially, we retained our humanity. A gift!” He placed a red cape over Martinez’s shoulders. “Bulls are drawn to red, you know? You are lucky. It is time for the Running of the Bulls!”

The men nearby removed their hats to reveal horns growing from their heads.

Don Acevedo grinned menacingly. “You should run now.”
___________________________
Each week, the Friday Fictioneers commune to right 100 word stories of flash fiction from a writer-donated photo. This week includes a lovely photo from Dee. Join us and write a story from the prompt which may be found here: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/11-april-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Bulls – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Very funny, darling — I could see you taking this and setting it in a Star Trek universe with the poor red-shirted ensign.

    Like

  2. atrm61 says:

    Ack!Poor Martinez!Hopefully that spacesuit has some inbuilt defense mechanism or at least will provide some cushioning for those horns?He surely cannot run wearing that!Good one once again Eric πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. elmowrites says:

    Something tells me they haven’t completely retained their humanity, no matter what he says! a funny take; I liked the idea of New Barcelona

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah, they lost more than their contact with Humanity. They haven’t seen a full human in so long, they’ve forgotten what one looks like. Glad you had a laugh and thanks for visiting! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Lyn says:

    Que estΓ‘ en problemas! You never disappoint, Eric – even with a 100 word story πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Well, certainly the New Barcelonans think there’s no problemo. Then again, those doing the chasing rarely do think there’s a problem. Thanks so much, Lyn. I really appreciate that! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. If that’s retaining their humanity, I’d say it’s a lot of bull. πŸ™‚ I very much like what you did with this. It’s a great combination of fun, sci-fi and horror-to-come.

    “…everyone’s hat was…” should be “everyone’s hats were”, since there are more than one hat. πŸ™‚

    janet

    Like

  6. This was unexpected and funny, always a winning combination. I don’t know why, but I am imagining their feet turning into hoofs.

    Like

  7. Rather cool story!

    It was Hemingway, I think, who insisted that there was no sport other than bullfighting. I beg to disagree, the fact is that anything with a motor in it that goes round the Nordschliefe in record time is sport…but not otherwise. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      I think I like the Running of the Bulls even better than bullfighting. When the bull hasn’t been stabbed in the shoulders a few times and the human isn’t armed with a sword, it really puts things into perspective. This way, the bulls have a chance to win.

      Everybody has their favorite sports. For me it’s American football and volleyball. A strange combination I’ll admit. It’s the way I’m wired. Although, when World Cup Soccer is on, I get pretty fanatic about it. Outside of the Olympics which includes few really exciting and many odd (and disinteresting games) it’s the only true worldwide competition. In the US, when someone wins the “World Series” they’re proclaimed “World Champions,” but that’s a misnomer. The tourney has to included many other nations to be world champ.

      Like

  8. Hala J. says:

    Man, didn’t think they’d be infusing bull DNA with humans up in space. Hope Martinez’s legs are good for some serious fast running!!

    Like

  9. Shey says:

    This was a scary one but has an element of surprise.

    Like

  10. elappleby says:

    Clever! I like a lot πŸ™‚ I wondered why their hats were so large – thought it might be to shade them (global warming?) but your twist totally got me. Fab!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you much! Their hats were large to keep their broad horns covered up. It’s why Martinez didn’t see them right away. Glad you enjoyed the twist. πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Dear Eric,

    Now that’s a nightmare I’d praying to wake up from. As for me, I’m wearing purple. πŸ˜‰ Good one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      No doubt. And how did I know you’d wear purple. hmmm. πŸ˜‰ I’ll be wearing blue myself, anything to keep the bull away. *ahem* Thanks much Rochelle, and thanks for visiting. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. You made me chuckle out loud.

    Like

  13. I have always wondered why you need a 6 gallon hat.

    Like

  14. Nan Falkner says:

    I didn’t expect that but it was a pleasant surprise! You are very good at this! Thanks, Nan πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. I don’t think I’d go alone to see people who haven’t had human contact in that long. They could have become cannibals. Where’s the rest of the crew? Looks like they might have drawn straws or something and he lost. I’m glad he made it back to the ship and safety. Funny story and well written. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      I think you’re right. He drew the short straw. I think official “re-contact” policy will include armed Marines next time, just for this sort of thing. Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for sharing your thoughts! πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. “You should run now.” HA! This was a wonderful twist on the running of the bulls. And Martinez still wearing his space suit, too. Run, Martinez, Run!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      No kidding. Run like the wind, brother! He did too. Made it to the ship safe and sound. You can bet, relations with New Barcelona are a might strained just now. Glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks much for commenting! πŸ™‚

      Like

  17. Wide hats? Horns? Great story. Run, Martinez, run.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

