The Potential – Gargleblaster

“Zero,” said Whitmore to the scientific reporter. “Add up the universe’s negative and positive energy, you get zero. That’s how a universe can appear from nothing.”

He savored a 73-year old scotch and groaned appreciatively. “In that nothing, there’s an infinity of potential.”
___________________________________

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to The Potential – Gargleblaster

  1. I like this dialogue a lot. I don’t know much about science but I can picture the conversation and setting well. Good job!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you. For obvious reasons, this is a minimalist piece, but I’m glad you could imagine the setting I intended. Thanks so much for the visit! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Cool! I like this one a lot. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Melanie L. says:

    Have you read “A Universe From Nothing?”

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      No I haven’t. I learned about it watching a lecture by Lawrence Krauss where he explained the theory in detail. It makes sense to me, and the notion that the universe balances out has a certain beautiful symmetry to it.

      Like

  4. Jennifer G. Knoblock says:

    Potential, love it. I need a drink or two to appreciate the science side of it. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Claudette says:

    Enjoyed it, the balance act seems a natural thing to imagine.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Everywhere I look in nature, “balance” seems to be the rule. So a balanced “zero-sum universe” makes a lot of sense to me. It fits the pattern of nature. Glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. GennaClaire says:

    “In that nothing, there’s an infinity of potential.”–What a great line!!

    Like

  7. Silverleaf says:

    It’s like a mini version of your longer sic-fi pieces. Expertly done! And of course, good taste in scotch can only add to all that.

    Like

  8. Jen says:

    And I can smell that scotch from here. Lovely. Interesting conversation!

    Like

  9. Fantastic conversation. It’s odd, but in so few words I saw them so clearly. Well done.

    Like

  10. soumyaa says:

    Wow! Just wow! It all adds upto noyhing, and yet there’s so much potential there. A very apt take on this week’s prompt πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. C.C. says:

    In nothing, there is infinite potential. That can be extrapolated to so many different things. Great insight.

    Like

  12. habibadanyal says:

    Never thought of it that way. So there is still so much positive in the world? Sounds hopeful.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Absolutely. As long as we harbor good things in our hearts, it will always exist. It is hopeful, but the potential truly exists. We just have to want it. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  13. Lyn says:

    I like the way the story comes into the conversation midway through. Almost as if you’ve opened a door and stepped into room where these two are talking. That 73-year-old scotch would be smoooth; very smoooth πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Cool. That’s the feeling I wanted to convey. It’s the middle of a conversation, but nonetheless the crux of one. And yeah, wouldn’t that scotch be wonderful? I can almost taste it. Thanks much, Lyn!

      Like

  14. inNateJames says:

    Fantastic answer. I’ve never thought about the fact that 1 negative and 1 positive has the same solution as a million negatives and a million positives. You’ve literally encompassed the Universe in 42 words. Douglas Adams would be proud!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Yup. I can’t take credit for it, though. Astrophysicists came up with that one. It truly is an elegant solution, isn’t it? I’m certain Deep Thought would appreciate it too. Thank you so much, and thanks for the visit!

      Like

  15. zeudytigre says:

    An infinity of potential from the nothing that positives and negatives add up to. Makes me think of a writer πŸ˜‰

    Like

  16. Meg says:

    Zero is everything. I love infinity. Great story, Eric.

    Like

  17. Indira says:

    Nice story. Great dialog.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

