Sky Marshal – Friday Fictioneers

Written for the Friday Fictioneers. A story, about a new kind of Sky Marshal, begins after the photo.

Genre: Speculative Fiction

Photo by: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Sky Marshal

I was one of hundreds of special Sky Marshals, specifically made for a new task, grown in a vat with my batchmates at DARPA.

During my first mission over troubled Azerbaijan, I could sense the surface-to-air missile streaking towards our passenger jet. In my mind, I could feel the parts of the missile. I twisted the fuel line, and the missile lost power, falling away 700 yards short of 248 helpless passengers.

No one knew.

My face always contorts when using my power. A stewardess patted my shoulder sympathetically. “First time flying?”

“Yes, sorry.”

“Don’t worry. You’re safe with us.”

I smiled. “I know.”
__________________________________
Author’s Notes:
Sky Marshals are currently in use, but without special powers: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sky_marshal
DARPA: Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DARPA
On July 17, 2014, Malaysian flight MH17 was shot down with 295 souls by a surface-to-air missile: http://www.cbsnews.com/news/malaysia-airlines-flight-17-crashes-in-ukraine/

Each week, the Friday Fictioneers fly out of their heads to create 100 word flash fiction from a photo prompt. Anyone can join in. Why don’t you? There’s many more stories from the photo prompt above. Find them here: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/07/30/1-august-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Sky Marshal – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Sarah says:

    What an interesting story (and one with a much more pleasant ending than the one in the news earlier this week.)

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you! With an airliner that went down mysteriously off Manhattan, and another recently over the Pacific, I was looking for answers. The solution is fantasy, of course, but it would be really cool. Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Very cool story…. nicely done.
    I wish fantasies came true 😦

    Like

  3. Lyn says:

    Oh if only! Maybe in the future something like this will be real. As usual, give Mr. Momus an inch of a photo, and he gives you a gem of a story πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Wouldn’t that be cool!

    Like

  5. Lovely bit of fantasy – if only! May DARPA win! Thanks for bringing hope.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      That’s what I like to do, and thank you! I’ve done my part in imagining it. Let’s hope DARPA does their’s and figures out how to actually do it. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. Sandra says:

    Great idea! Worth exploring further.

    Like

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear EA,

    Now that’s a good story. Good concept, well paced and intelligent dialog. Perfect ending.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  8. Dear Eric,

    I want to fly with him. I really enjoyed this bit of sci-fi. Nice.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  9. EagleAye, We’ll know you’ve really stumbled onto something if we see you’re being questioned by some agency or the other. I agree that sky marshals with special powers would be great. I expect to hear of a film made on that soon. Well written. πŸ™‚ —Susan

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Exactly. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to know there’s guys protecting you like that? Maybe DARPA is working on it as I write…uh…hang on. There’s guys at the door wearing dark suits and sunglasses (and it’s not sunny out). They want to chat a moment.

      Ah, back to what I was saying. This is pure fantasy and such technology is years…ah…”decades” away. *ahem* πŸ˜‰

      Glad you enjoyed the story, Susan. I really appreciate reading your thoughts. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. ladyryl says:

    Excellent concept!
    This is enough to make me wish there was a whole book attached to it…

    Like

  11. Great idea, this begs for a continuation.

    Like

  12. A new Marvel Super hero.
    A Sky King of the 21 Century – begging for a Penny as a sidekick. (TV show probably well before your time).

    Nice going. Randy

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Sure could be. I wonder if Marvel will buy the rights from me. And yeah, that was before my time. I’ll bet it was fun though. Thanks so much for stopping in Randy! πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Indira says:

    One of your great ideas. Very very interesting story. Nice end.

    Like

  14. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Eagle Aye, That is someone who you would want to fly with every time! Good story and cool powers! Nan πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Preeti says:

    Very X-meny and all! Nice! πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. Blake says:

    I always enjoy the inventiveness of the scenarios you dream up. You surely must’ve read and watched lots and lots of SF-type stories… πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      He he. It’s true. SciFi has been my primary reading genre for almost 40 years. You might say I’m familiar with it. πŸ˜‰ Glad you enjoyed this, and thanks so much for your thoughts. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

