Philippines Animals: Everything Else

While Shey and I specialize in photographing birds, in all honesty we’ll photograph anything that moves, and a lot of things that don’t. That Phils has some very beautiful butterflies. And then there’s the domestic animals running around everywhere. Lots of stuff to take pics of. Here’s a small sampling.

A Carabao. A Philippines Ox. When I first saw one I mistook it for Philippines cattle, and suggested it was hamburger on the hoof. “No way,” I was told. Folks wouldn’t think of eating them unless they’d died of old age. This is purely a working animal. You wouldn’t think of eating your tractor, would you? I love the way they look with their curved horns. I took lots of pictures of them.
IMG_1664
At the Pulang Bato Red River Valley Waterfalls, these birds took one look at my brother-in-law, Lyndon, and figured he MUST be there to feed them. They followed him for a while while he stoically ignored them.
IMG_1374
A Carabao doing what he does best. This guy was kind enough to let me take a pic.
IMG_1513
In the US, farm animals are rarely seen from the road, and then only at a distance. In the Philippines, the animals are so close you can touch them, and they’re everywhere. This is a typical farmer’s rice field right beside the road, except this one has been graced by Shey. 😉
IMG_1757
These ducks were all walking in an orderly line through the field on their way to a feeding.
IMG_1785
An awesome butterfly.
IMG_2038
Another awesome butterfly, and hard to see, especially if you were looking for birds.
IMG_2053
“I still don’t see any butterflies. Where are they?”
IMG_2112
Just kidding. At the butterfly sanctuary, they had tame butterflies they could place on your face and they would stay there. Great photo opportunities!
IMG_2109
I’m not a lepidopterologist so I don’t know what this is. It just looks cool.
IMG_2146

IMG_2158
A Red Crab. I understand they’re pretty tasty. Lucky for him, we’d already eaten.
IMG_2241
You see Goats everywhere. They’re so easy to care for. Just tie them near something edible (for Goats that’s almost anything), and walk away.
IMG_2874
Saw lots of these guys.
IMG_2924
A Baka. This is Philippines cattle, and where you get your burgers from.
IMG_3132
Fiddler Crab, daring me to mess with him.
IMG_3202
This butterfly was HUGE, almost 5 inches across. It didn’t flutter like most butterflies, it soared.
IMG_3261

When I said animals are beside the road, I wasn’t kidding. This pig needed his own lane.

More of the ducks in a video. They’re so cute, I couldn’t resist.

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Philippines Animals: Everything Else

  1. BrainRays says:

    I love those ducks. They’re so cute. Haha. :3

    Like

  2. Lyn says:

    Great .photos Eric. That last butterfly is especially awesome! I’ve never been to a butterfly sanctuary, but I sure would like to.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Lyn! I wish you could’ve seen the last butterfly. I’ve never seen anything like it. When I saw it in the corner of my eye, I thought it was a bird. I’d hoped you would see these. I know you enjoy butterflies. Hopefully sometime you’ll get to enjoy a butterfly sanctuary.

      Like

  3. List of X says:

    That huge yellow thing on the fiddler crab – is that a claw?? If so, the name Popeye crab would be more appropriate.

    Like

  4. pattisj says:

    Interesting carabao! They are kind of cute, the horns do help a lot. Sadly, the cow didn’t appear to have much meat on its bones. Nice butterflies!

    Like

  5. Indira says:

    That buffaloes looks exactly like we have in India. Ducks are so cute and butterflies beautiful. Lovely photographs.

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

