A Terrible Blunder – Friday Fictioneers

Written for the Friday Fictioneers. A story, about a poorly execute plan, begins after the photo.

Genre: Fantasy/Humor

Photo by: Kent Bonham

A Terrible Blunder

“The Faerie King is furious about the Princess being kidnapped so many times,” explained Deerbark.

“Woe to the next kidnapper,” agreed Seedwing.

Deerbark shuddered at the thought. “So, I’ve arranged a trap to capture a Human child to amuse the King.”

“Okay…”

“I’ve made a lollipop. One lick, and they’ll be transported to a terrible dungeon.”

First one, then three, then twenty children passed it by, most just said “Ew!”.

“Why?” wailed Deerbark.

“What flavor is it?” said Seedwing.

“Yew-Bark and Sparrow-Feather flavor.”

“That should work, then. Hmmm.”

By chance, the Faerie Princess discovered it. “Ooh my favorite!” she squealed, and licked it.
__________________________________

Each week, the Friday Fictioneers join for a repast of glazed toadstools, jasmine blossom curry, and cups of sandalwood tea. There, flash fiction stories are imagined based upon a photo prompt. Look here for more exciting stories based upon the photo above: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/3-october-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Terrible Blunder – Friday Fictioneers

  1. julie says:

    I think we have one of those under our sofa? =/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Swoosieque says:

    I loved that you could make a fantasy out of that ugly thing! 😀

    Like

  3. Lyn says:

    The Faerie King needs to get himself a new security team. Everyone knows human children only eat booger-flavoured lollypops 🙂 Just the sort of clever tale we’ve come to expect, Eric.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! No kidding. I think the two guys need to learn about more about Human children, that is, when the King is done torturing them for their terrible blunder. 😉 Glad you enjoyed and thanks so much!

      Like

  4. This made me laugh – thank yew!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very cute story. I’d have guess mouse flavored, for cats.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bastet says:

    Ah the irony! Loved the story.

    Like

  7. Dear Eric,

    Best laid plans of mice and faeries. Unfortunate. Who knew the princess had such weird tastes. I don’t think the king’s going to be happy about this. I, on the other hand, am I happy I stopped by to ready your story. I leave smiling.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Smiles are what I’m aiming for. So glad to hear that. Things are about to get sticky for our wayward idea men (faeries). I expect they’re running for their lives just now. Thanks so much, Rochelle!

      Like

  8. Dear EA,

    I loved the world you built and the way the story carried us along, laughing at the flavor and then at the way the Princess licked it and at the thought of where she ended up. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  9. Indira says:

    After reading so many dark stories I know where to come for some relief and you never fail. Very well thought and written.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Aaaah..irony, it’s so ironic.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear EagleAye, I LOVE THIS STORY! Made me laugh a lot! If I was Deerbark, I would leave for parts unknown and tell him not to look back. Nan 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Yay! I love hearing that. I was hoping for some good laughs. Both of them are quickly leaving the territory post haste. The King’s ire is legendary. 😉

      Thanks much, Nan!

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

