Worms – Friday Fictioneers

Written for the Friday Fictioneers. A story, about the pitfalls of avarice, begins after the photo.

Genre: Speculative Fiction/Humor

Photo by: Douglas M. MacIlroy

Worms

Tully was a scientific reporter, but mostly an opportunist.

Following Doctor Bosco through the lab, he knew immediately that some particular seashells were rare, and would fetch a lot of money. Surreptitiously, he snatched one just as Bosco turned. Tully dared not be caught. Thinking fast, he swallowed the shell.

Bosco selected a similar shell. “These came from the Challenger Deep,” he said. “They look like seashells, but they’re actually eggs.”

“Really?”

“Yep. They require strong acid, like stomach acid, to hatch into 30+ Polychaete Worms.

Tully gulped. “How big?”

“Huge. Eventually reaching 12 feet long…”

Tully swooned.

“I know!” exclaimed Bosco. “Amazing isn’t it?”
________________________________
Author’s Notes:
The Challenger Deep is the deepest known point in the Earth’s seabed hydrosphere: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Challenger_Deep
Polychaete Worm: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polychaete

Each week, The Friday Fictioneers go on fishing trips for beers, barbeque, and literary amusements. We write flash fiction from a freshly caught photo, and cook it up upon the coals of imagination. Great picture, Douglas! Join us if you like to party! Look here for more stories based upon the photo above: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/10/15/17-october-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Worms – Friday Fictioneers

  1. triSARAHtops says:

    Ha! Very well done πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Speculative fiction, my foot! That was plain out-and-out horror – and I loved it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. J says:

    Doh! Payback’s rough! [shudder!]

    Like

  4. Sandra says:

    It’s going to be a bit crowded in there. I’d try the old finger down the throat job before it’s too late. What a take on the prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      He’ll probably be admitting himself to the hospital to have his stomach pumped. Otherwise there won’t be enough room inside for both the worms…and his internal organs. Thanks so much, Sandra! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Lyn says:

    What a take on the prompt is right! I think he should go for an xray and then emergency surgery. Eric, you have done it again. How you came up with that story from that prompt is beyond me πŸ˜€

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Yeah he better get that thing removed quick, before he looks like a worm chiapet. πŸ˜‰ I don’t know where this stuff comes from either. I think I fell on my head a few times as a child. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. Brilliant! I wonder if Tully will survive to learn a lesson. I sense a serious bout of forced vomiting coming on, and a lifetime of panic attacks brought on by the slightest ache or rumble in the abdominal region. Oh, and I love the picture of the polychaete worm, just in case the image conjured by my imagination wasn’t horrific enough!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Just in case folks weren’t familiar with polychaete worms, I thoughtfully included the picture. πŸ˜‰ You’re right about Tully’s future. I imagine he’ll have to give up burritos and Thai food. Any burning or “biting” sensation in his belly might be an instant nightmare for him. Glad you enjoyed and thanks much, Siobhan!

      Like

  7. MM Jaye says:

    If Bosco is not yanking his chain… Excellent take!

    Greetings from Greece!
    Maria (MM Jaye)

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      That would be funny if he was. I’m sure Bosco could add a blood-curdling narrative and watch Tully squirm (so to speak). Hello Greece! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. babso2you says:

    Love it! Especially the photo at the end! Gave me the willies!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hah, this is such a good idea for a story from the picture, and of course, brilliantly written too. Wonderfully disgusting.
    Claire

    Liked by 1 person

  10. draliman says:

    Hah, that’s Karma for you. Looks like he’s in for a rough time, better get some antacid down quick!

    Like

  11. I have repeated, “That is disgusting,” Three? Four? times. Yuck! and well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I think I would be headed to have my stomach pumped!

    Like

  13. hugmamma says:

    Oh my! I nearly gagged on this one. Too discomforting to swallow whole. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dear Eric,

    “I know an old lady who swallowed a fly…” Yikes. Tully, get thee to an emergency room! How vile! How disgusting! How funny and well written!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I know. He oughta be sayin’, “Get this thing outa’ me!” An emergency medical helicopter wouldn’t be fast enough for me. Glad you had a laugh, and thanks! πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear EA,

    I dated a girl named Polly Keat once in high school. She looked kind of like that picture.

    Your story is pretty near perfect and brilliant to boot, The antagonist with his agenda and the protagonist with his, both meeting at the end in horror, hubris and humor. So cool.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! I imagine Polly didn’t get many dates with an overbite like that. πŸ˜‰

      You’ve got me grinning with pride at your glowing comments. I’m so happy you enjoyed the story. I wanted it to be worthy of your excellent picture. Thanks so much for the read and your thoughts. πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. wildbilbo says:

    Brilliant. Loved that little twist at the end.

    Like

  17. Hmm… perhaps he’ll learn not to steal! Good story. Didn’t expect something like this from that prompt! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. MissTiffany says:

    Ugh! Gross! But I’d say Tully was just on the receiving end of karma.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Margaret says:

    Very funny. I guess Tully’s avarice really might be a deadly sin.
    Marg

    Like

  20. Loved it! Great fun and creative take.

    Like

  21. Eric, If he doesn’t get his stomach pumped soon he’ll be inside the monster instead of the other way around. Humorous and well written. πŸ™‚ — Susan

    Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

