Quitting – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Claire Fuller

Quitting

Eoghan wanted to quit the gang, but Cassidy made it clear Eoghan’s family would suffer if he did. Eoghan was stuck committing robberies.

“What’s wrong?” said Cassidy from the tires outside.

Eoghan shut the garage door. “There’s a big dog there.”

“Well shoot it!”

“It ate me gun.”

“It what? Ach! Let me see.” Cassidy shoved Eoghan aside and marched in.

A moment later…

“What the…?”

Eoghan shut the door when the screams began. He said, “Did I mention it’s an 8-foot Lockheed Mark-III Military Robot Dog?”

As Cassidy’s bones snapped he said, “Oh, and I QUIT, ye feckin’ barstard!”
_____________________________________
Author’s Notes:
No, Eoghan isn’t an alien name. It’s actually Irish, pronounced like, “Owen.”

Each week the Friday Fictioneers meet in a secret meeting garage in Dublin (maybe not), to imagine 100 words of flash fiction from an image prompt. This time a great one from Claire Fuller. This story is based upon the photo above. Look here for more stories based upon it: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/21-november-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Quitting – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Shannon says:

    You always make me laugh, and I LOVE when people write voices in Irish or Scottish brogue. Ha, and thank you for giving the pronunciation- my Irish cousin once told me that my name (Shannon) is spelled Sionainn, which always seemed mysterious and wonderful πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Awesome. I love that you got a laugh. I was really hoping for that. Irish names fascinate me too, and I agree that they’re “mysterious and wonderful.” That’s a perfect description. I like the name Eoghan because it looks so difficult to pronounce when it’s actually very simple. I love the Irish spelling of your name. I hope you don’t mind if I use it? Thanks so much for your thoughts! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. J says:

    Well, that’s one way to give your notice!
    Great write —-

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Indira says:

    Now Cassidy really deserved this. LOL.

    Like

  4. Archon's Den says:

    Nicely done – Irish names and all. You gave me a start. “Quitting – Friday Fiction”, I thought we were losing you. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear EA,

    Hahah! Well done! Consider that an exit interview, too.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A good way to leave your ‘job’.
    Claire

    Like

  7. Lyn says:

    A Lockheed Mark-III Military Robot Dog? Ahh, obviously a distant relative of Chummy. Wonderful, I loved it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. One of his early precursors. Later versions would become AIs. Early ones were still quite deadly and Cassidy discovered posthumously. Glad you enjoyed it, Lyn. Thanks much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. I love the look of Irish names but am often at sea as to how to pronounce them. We have a daughter named Shannon, so I’ll have to pass that spelling on to her. Just thought that Gaelic spellings might make great passwords, if you can remember them and unless you are hacked by a mad Irishman/person. πŸ™‚ Anyway, enjoyed the story a lot, a perfect first read of the day.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I think that’s a great idea. Gaelic words aren’t found in the dictionary so they’d be tough to crack. Maybe an icelandic name would be better. Glad you enjoyed the story. I’m happy to start your day off well. Thanks for the visit! πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Dear Eric,

    And they say there’s no quitting a gang. Guess Eoghan found a way. Love the dialogue. I suppose you could call this biting satire. πŸ˜‰ Woof.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! It seems Cassidy really thought he had Eoghan under control, but he was barking up the wrong tree. πŸ˜‰ There’s plenty of ways to quit gangs, but Eoghan may may hold the record for thinking fast when quitting. Glad you enjoyed. Thanks much, Rochelle! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. snap! .. would a last word I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Honie Briggs says:

    Okay, this made me laugh. That’s one way to get out of a gang, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Margaret says:

    I’m glad he found a way out. Committing robberies obviously wasn’t to his liking. Maybe he’ll go into the security business now – with a guard dog like that he’d be sure to succeed. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I think he’d be happier that way, knowing how the crooks operate after all. And yeah, an 8-foot guard dog would definitely be an advantage. Glad you liked and thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. wildbilbo says:

    I think I’ve wanted to leave a few previous jobs in much the same way… Nice take on the prompt πŸ™‚
    KT

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

