Good Book – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Randy Mazie

Good Book

Marcus thrust BlazeBlood into the heart of the dragon. The mighty beast burst into flame and perished. The Lady Amnebon was safe.

“Marcus!”

Marcus awoke sitting on the floor. A book sat in his lap from the library shelf. He turned slowly, readjusting to a different reality.

“Me worried sick you wit’ deh gangs,” said his mother in her Nigerian accent. She sighed. “You here all day?”

“Yeah Mom.” He closed the book Grandpa had showed him.

She smiled. “Good book?” she asked, taking his hand.

“Great!” Marcus surreptitiously flicked a piece of burnt dragon scale off his shoulder. “Took me to another place.”
_________________________________
Each week, the Friday Fictioneers enter a tiny nook in the back of an undisclosed library location. There, we travel to the distant lands to battle fiery dragons, tentacled aliens, and the evil predatory hamsters of Gan’ye’Floristan. Okay, actually that is pure fantasy…the library location isn’t hidden at all. πŸ˜‰ Look here for more flash fiction stories based upon the photo above: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/11/26/28-november-2014/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Good Book – Friday Fictioneers

  1. I really liked it, particularly the action of flicking the ash of burnt dragon scale. A good book definitely takes us to wonderful, mystifying places. πŸ™‚
    -HA

    Like

  2. In that library I would read about puppies and kittens… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      No doubt. When reading a book in that library you have to sign something saying you won’t sue them for wrongful death. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping in, Bjorn! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Quite literally it seems. But may I ask, are dragons flammable? It seems a little awkward if a fire breathing lizard stands the chance of incinerating itself?

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Ah, but there are many types of dragons. The fire-breathing kind are fire “resistant” but not entirely. The right spit is still vulnerable. Other dragons breathe lightning, or acid, or frost, and these are not so fire-resistant. Some dragons have no breath weapon at all. Some just cast spells. Dragons are complicated, and you should consult your local dragonologist regarding safe-handling if you ever encounter one. This is a public-service announcement. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Lyn says:

    Wonderful imagination — and I don’t just mean Marcus πŸ˜€ Flicking the piece of burnt dragon’s scale from his shoulder was a nice touch.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Madhura says:

    Brilliant last line! Enjoyed this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great story – books certainly takes us to some fantastical places. I hope this discovery saves Marcus from an alternative life with ‘deh gangs’

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Me too. A healthy interest in books usually keeps kids out of trouble. Books have always transported me, but I never came back from reading one with a souvenir. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Dear Eric,

    Now that’s what I call really getting into a book. I love the image of Marcus’ mother as well. I could see and hear them both. Very enjoyable piece with a lot of story between the lines.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  8. babso2you says:

    Love the flick of the dragon scale! Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. draliman says:

    I love a library with a magic portal inside. Books are indeed magical (even the “normal” kind)!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jan Brown says:

    A great story about the power of books. I loved, loved, loved the last paragraph!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      That’s so great to hear. Books have always been magical to me, even without the residue of burned dragon scales left behind. I’m glad the story resonated well with you. Thanks so much for your thoughts!

      Like

  11. dmmacilroy says:

    The dragon’s scale was a perfect sentence in a perfect story. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Shannon says:

    JUST ONCE I WISH THAT I HAD WOKEN UP WITH A BURNT DRAGON SCALE ON MY SHOULDER!! Seriously, though, this was perfect, and reminded me that I still adore reading fantasy because I haven’t quite given up the hope that it will still happen, someday πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Absolutely! I wish I could’ve killed the dragon, saved the princess, and woke up from my reading with a souvenir. You never know, it might still happen. Keep after it! πŸ˜‰

      Glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for the glowing comments. I really appreciate it. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

