Worry – Gargleblaster Micro-Fiction #197

Source: Wikimedia Commons

In Harridan’s Pub, the whiskey sloshed out of Barry’s glass.

Outside, People ran past, screaming.

Frantically, Barry signaled for another drink.

“You’re worried about Earth stopping its rotation?” asked the bartender.

Barry said, “No, I was worried about a lack of whiskey!”
_____________________________

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Worry – Gargleblaster Micro-Fiction #197

  1. I’m glad to see Barry’s got his priorities straight. LOL! Good one EagleAye!

    Like

  2. List of X says:

    I’d say it depends on the sort of whiskey… 🙂

    Like

  3. inNateJames says:

    I’d be one of the screamers out in the street wondering what Barry knows that I don’t. Of course the secret is whisky.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just snorted out loud. Talk about putting the twist on something serious. Well done 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Candace says:

    In good times and bad, whiskey is the constant! (I like that you capitalized the word People.)

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      It certainly is. You’d think that in bad times, liquor sales would drop off, because people would hold on to their money. In fact, liquor sales rise in tough times. Ah, whiskey! Always there to soothe the soul when it’s needed. Thanks so much for the visit! 🙂

      Like

  6. You crack me up every single week! OMG screw worrying as long as there is plenty of whiskey we can handle anything! LOL

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Precisely! Sufficient quantities of quality whiskey make any problem easier to handle, and even solve…given enough bottles. 😀 I’m glad to know you’re having a laugh. That’s the whole point. Thanks so much for your comments! 🙂

      Like

  7. Christine says:

    Ha! This reminds me of the Old Dun Cow. (http://youtu.be/6NqrEkz-zJU)

    Like

  8. Ah, priorities! If the world is going to stop turning, might as well enjoy it to the last drop, eh? haha

    Like

  9. tnkerr says:

    Good cause to worry I’d say.

    Like

  10. Stacie says:

    Why was the bar tender not worried?!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Easy. He had access to a whole lot of whiskey. Coming up short was not a possibility. 😉

      Alternatively, different people react to different situations, differently. Some are calm, some drink, some run in the streets in panic. Not every response is the same.

      Like

  11. Tony Lovell says:

    haha I have to say, if I were of a calmer nature, I would like for that to be my response as well! I’d probably be panicking with everyone else. But the bartender must be rather calm, as well! Enjoyed this!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      I think I’d have a drink, but I’d also be busy packing to move to where it’s safe to ride the calamity out. I’d do a little of both things to be sure I’m doing it all right. 😉 The bartender? Probably going to share a drink with Barry. Thanks so much. I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

  12. Lindsay says:

    Fantastic! It reminds me so much of Shaun of the Dead. That’s the only apocalyptic comedy I’ve seen, so as far as I’m concerned, that’s the only one there is. I love the humor in your story because it feels completely natural and not forced.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you! I love to hear that it felt natural. That’s what I want. Shaun of the Dead is positively brilliant. It’s one of my faves. All Simon Pegg’s movies are great but that one’s the best. I’m glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks kindly for the visit! 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

