The New Guy – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Melanie Greenwood

The New Guy

The new postman was a nice guy, but a little hard-headed. They stood before the maze of hedges guarding the Minos’ house.

“I’m not kiddin’,” insisted Grant.

“I’m familiar with Labrador dogs,” sighed Mick.

“It’s not just a lab…”

“Riiight,” interrupted Mick.

“It’s got huge…”

“Very funny. Look, I’ve been the new guy before, you know.” Mick advanced boldly into the maze.

Preston pulled up in a postman’s truck. “He has it?”

“He wouldn’t listen!” complained Grant.

Preston shrieked, “He went in without a steak?”

“Aaaaaaggghhhh!” Mick flew over a hedgerow.

Grant sighed. “Well, I guess he believes in the Labrataur now!”
_____________________________
Author’s Notes:
Based upon the Greek myth of the Minotaur: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minotaur

Every week, the Friday Fictioneers brave a maze guarded by that lesser version of the Minotaur, the Labrataur. We always bring along a steak, and try to appease it further with flash fiction inspired by a photo prompt. Look here for more stories based upon the photo above from Melanie Greenwood: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/02/04/6-february-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The New Guy – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Robin says:

    I love when I get to read your stories. You always make me laugh. I guess it’s to late for Mick πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this might be over my head. Either that or that whooshing noise was Mick flying by.

    Like

  3. Lyn says:

    Never assume anything. Mick did and discovered to his discomfort that when you do, you might just lose your ass. I’m with Robin…”You always make me laugh” with your wacky stories πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. Mick got a little “cheeky” with his trainer and in the end, lost a little bit of his “cheek.” Sometimes it pays to listen. Glad to know you’re laughing. It’s everything I wish for. Thanks much, Lyn!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very funny twist at the end, almost mythical! (Note typo in last line of Grant’s name, I think.)

    Like

  5. Archon's Den says:

    I got the point of this cute story….right after Mick also did. πŸ™„

    Like

  6. Dear Eric,

    Labrataur? Classic. I nearly spewed coffee from my nose. You have a way of putting a spin on things and then turning it on its ear. Love it. Simply love it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Coffee through the nose is the highest compliment in humor. Thank you! πŸ˜‰ I do enjoy the bizarre, you know. Thanks so much, Rochelle. I really appreciate it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. draliman says:

    Well, what else would the Minos’ have guarding their house? Only these days they’re throwing postmen to the beast πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. And apparently the Minos’ still believe in killing the messenger. These days though, with inflation and all, they can’t afford a full-on Minotaur. Budget crunch, you see. πŸ˜‰ Thanks kindly!

      Like

  8. Honie Briggs says:

    Too bad for Mick, but fun for the rest of us. By the way, I love the background image on your page.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Definitely rough for Mick, nut her survives just fine. Just a little banged up. Glad you had fun. The background is a fractal, one of my favorite forms of art. Glad you like it too and thank you!

      Like

  9. Indira says:

    Funny take, loved it. Labrataur?

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. A Minotaur is a cross between a man and bull. So if you crossed a Labrador dog with a bull, you’d have to call it a “Labrataur.” πŸ˜‰ Glad you got a laugh. Thanks Indira!

      Like

  10. I went searching for “Labrataur” and it took me to a video game of “wars.” LOL! I like the mythology spin on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Wow. I’m surprised you found anything at all. I just made it up. And here I thought I was at the cutting edge. Stay tuned for more mythology stuff. I’
      m a big fan of it so it appears in my writing often. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Mama always said hard heads make for soft tails. BTW – Did you build this creature in a labrataur-y? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Ah-haha! Why, yes I did. How perceptive of you. Each day I’d send out Labs for testing…and they always came back with a stick… πŸ˜‰ Mick’s hard head made for a very sore tail in his case. Mama was right. Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  12. afairymind says:

    Love it! Labrataur – brilliant. Mick won’t be going in there without a steak again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Margaret says:

    It’s tough being a postie. I hope Mick’s a little more humble now. Funny story.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. What great fun. I loved this.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Love the updated minotaur!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. storydivamg says:

    What a fun take on the prompt and on a classic tale, Eric. Skillfully handled.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

