Recanting – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Recanting

Jedediah Smith joined Paul upon the former plantation’s veranda. He sipped his mint julep. “My wife hates that the slaves were freed,” he sighed.

“It’s an adjustment,” noted Paul.

“Honey!” screeched Brittany Smith from indoors. “The glasses are dusty!”

“Perhaps dust them?” called Jedediah. To Paul, “I understand you’re marrying that mulatto woman?”

“Yes, Jennifer. Concerns?”

“Ow! That’s sharp!” screeched Brittany.

“Careful with the knives, Sweetcakes!” called Jedediah. To Paul, he said, “At one time I imagined marrying a woman of color would be singularly challenging.”

“And?”

“Jedediah!” whined Brittany. “Where’s the bandages?”

Jedediah winced, “I have since recanted my position.”
___________________________
Author’s Notes:
Mulatto is a person of mixed white and black ancestry. A term rarely used now, but still common after the Civil War: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mulatto

Mint Julep: a southern-styled drink of mint and bourbon: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mint_julep

Each week, the Friday Fictioneers meet to drink Mint Juleps in Virginia and imagine flash fiction from photos. Look here for more stories based upon the photo above: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/02/11/13-february-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Recanting – Friday Fictioneers

  1. afairymind says:

    Good story. 🙂 From the sound of it it’s the marriage he has that’s the challenging one. I’m not surprised he’s recanted! But I’m sure Brittany will adapt to life without slaves eventually…

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you! Yes, eventually she learns to do things without people serving her hand and foot. You’re right about Jedediah. It’s his current marriage that is challenging. It forced him to rethink. Glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Danny Boy says:

    Glad we don’t use the term Mulatto any more. Mint Julep’s are rare today, except at the KY Derby. Fun story.

    DJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. I’ve never had one, which is strange because I love mint so much. Someday, I’ll enjoy a Mint Julep. And yeah, I’m glad certain terms have fallen out of fashion. Thanks much, Danny!

      Like

  3. Lyn says:

    Oh dear, I could see poor Jedediah rolling his eyes, and hear the little woman’s whiny voice. The conversation was just so matter of fact. LOL I had visions of Colonel Sanders for a minute 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. List of X says:

    Yep, they freed the slaves, so now Brittany is expected to work the kitchen without any help from her husband. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dear Eric,

    It does seem that the magnolia white southern belle is more of a challenge. Poor girl, she has a rude awakening going on. Love the dialogue.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yes she does. There are challenges and there are challenges. In the days ahead, she’ll learn that ovens are hot in a most painful way. Unfortunately, growing up with little responsibility has left poor Brittany with little common sense. Glad you enjoyed. Thanks Rochelle! 🙂

      Like

  6. Great story! Like they’ve been saying, it’s a great angle you have there. We often see how it was for the slaves, during and after, which is awesome, but it is funny to see how the “white” people adapted and surpass the despair of their “lost”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you! I still think it’s funny how people imagine all the problems of interracial marriage. In any relationship there will be challenges. An interracial marriage is no more challenging than a marriage with the same ethnicity. Both succeed or fail based upon the couple’s willingness to work as a team. It has little to do with ethnicity. This is what Jedediah realizes in the end. It’s quite a feat of wisdom for Jedediah considering the post-Civil War environment. I’m glad you enjoyed the angle I took. Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. storydivamg says:

    Interesting spin on the Reconstruction era, Eric. I’m not sure the marriage of a white man and a mulatto would have been viewed in a positive light by anyone south of the Mason-Dixon Line at the time, but it makes for good reading.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      That’s absolutely correct. In fact, there were anti-miscegenation laws in effect until 1967, within my lifetime, and that’s a sobering thought. There were romantic (as opposed to forced) relationships between different ethnicities, but these were kept well-hidden because the social ramifications could be brutal, if not deadly. It’s true, I abbreviated quite a bit of social change and took some literary liberties. I’m glad it was still enjoyable reading. Thank you much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh yes, this is a great story and I could easily see it being played out in my mind. LOL I wonder what their bandages were back then? Gauze or rags? Just curious. I enjoyed reading this Eric.

    Like

  9. This is a good fable; lesson learned, marry for love.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Margaret says:

    And I wonder how the wood chopping and garden maintenance is being done round there now. Interesting take on the prompt, and engaging characters. I like how you’ve punctuated the dialogue with Brittany’s interruptions from ‘offstage’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I imagine it gets done with great peril. Eventually, they’ll hire on some of the former household slaves before Brittany cuts her own hand off! 😉 I’m glad you enjoyed the characters. I wanted them, most of them, to be likeable. Thanks so much for your kind comments. 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

