Weekly Photo Challenge: Reward

This week’s Photo Challenge is: Reward. This can be interpreted many ways. Lately, I have personally received a lot of reward and today, I’m offering pictures of it. You see, “birding” might be considered something “easy” that retirees and pensioners do. Let me tell you that birding “well” is not easy at all. Add in that Shey and I aren’t satisfied until we get a good pic of the bird, and birding can be downright grueling. It’s frustrating when you know the bird is there, and for some reason you can’t get a satisfying pic. You just have to try and try and try again. Eventually, it pays off magnificently. Recently, on a trip to Galveston, it did.

Eastern Meadowlark. We’ve “seen” this bird many times, but I never got a clear picture that I liked. Finally, after lots of effort and lots of cursing, I got my reward.
IMG_5066

IMG_5051
Black Skimmers. I’ve gotten grainy pics of these before, taken in poor light from long range. On this trip we found a huge flock of them. Almost never do birds allow humans to get close, but on this day we closed to within 60 feet and they didn’t care. I didn’t realize how narrow this bird’s beaks are, or how hard it is to see their eyes. This was my reward.
IMG_5188

IMG_5201

IMG_5212
Neotropic Cormorant. While out with expert birders, they’ve pointed out Neotropics to us, but only at VERY long range, where you could barely see them with binoculars. No camera-shot worth taking. We see Double-Crested Cormorants all the time, but not the Neotropic Cormorants. Right beside the black skimmers were these Neotropics, and again, they didn’t care when we got close. The Cormorant is in the background in both of these pics, Laughing Gull in the foreground. Waiting all this time, and now I receive my reward.
IMG_5244

IMG_5239

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Reward

  1. Lyn says:

    Those Black Skimmers are an awesome looking bird!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Lyn! Yes they’re really cool. The way they hunt is fascinating. They fly really low over the water and dip their lower beak into the water as they fly along. Eventually, they run into a fish and snap it up. It’s an amazing feat of flying skill.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Indira says:

    Lovely pics. Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pattisj says:

    Nice shots. Always fun to see what you’ve found. You’re not kidding–shooting birds in the wild is hard work! That’s why I specialize in backyard birds. They come to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      It really is. It’s hard enough to track them down, but then they often won’t sit still. Getting a pic of a Kinglet is like trying to catch a greased pig! It’s still fun and challenging though. Glad you enjoyed the pics, and thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Birds are so hard to photograph because they don’t stay still or let you get too close. You’ve got lots of rewards here, but I love the yellow on the meadowlark! (Can relate to the cursing. I would’ve done that when I tried to capture a crane in a tree and didn’t do very well. I just had my cell phone, so that was part of the problem.)

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      They really are unwilling photography subjects. They survive by not being seen easily. Then again, try photographing a Mockingbird. They’ll sit out in the open and wait patiently for you to get the camera settings right. Bold birds. The Meadowlark is really a beautiful bird. I’m so happy to finally get a good pic. Birda are hard to get with high-end cams, even more so with cellphone cams. Still they’re fun and challenging to photograph. Thanks so much, Janna! 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

