Never Leave Him Behind – Chimera 66

Never Leave Him Behind

“We left him 30 miles back!” wondered Ellen.

Young Jamie held her guinea pig. “Quicksilver runs very fast.”

“Okay,” patronized Ellen.

“The faster he runs, the more mag-na-getic he gets.”

“Sweetie,” sighed Ellen. “Guinea pigs aren’t magnetic.”

Bill said “I believe it.”

Ellen scowled. “Why?”

Bill pointed down the highway. Metal sheds, fences, and cars lay stuck, jammed together like Tinker Toys.

“What else would do that?”
__________________________
Author’s Notes:
Well, since it’s Adopt a Rescued Guinea Pig month, why not?

This week in Grammar Ghoul Press’ Chimera 66 writing challenge, the word prompt is: Quicksilver. Look here for more stories answering the challenge: http://www.grammarghoulpress.com/chimera-66-writing-challenge-10/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Never Leave Him Behind – Chimera 66

  1. Michael says:

    A guinea pig with magnetic superpowers. I like this. I like this a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael says:

    Or….MagnaPig! I think I like that one. :”MagnaPig, MagnaPig, does whatever a MagnaPig does…”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: MagnaPig, MagnaPig, Does Whatever a MagnaPig Does | Hypothetically Writing

  4. Shey says:

    Very cute and cool pet.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lyn says:

    I like Jamie. She’s a girl after my own heart. LOL now that is a guinea pig you don’t want to argue with. Let’s hope they never go on a train trip with Quicksilver.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. HAHAHA! Well done! This is so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jen says:

    I want a magnetic guinea pig! lol Such a great imagination!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Suzanne says:

    I guess you wouldn’t put a magnetic guinea pig in a cage with metal bars… unless you didn’t want it to escape. And I had no idea there was such as thing as Adopt a Rescued Guinea Pig month. Don’t tell my son!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! My lips are sealed. Quicksilver only gets magnetic when he’s running. The faster he runs, the more magnetic. He’s fine in a metal cage, but if he gets some speed, watch out! Thanks Suzanne! 🙂

      Like

  9. greenmanwood says:

    I can see the development of QPEs to power the world’s cars. Quicksilver Progeny Engines under the hood, installed in high quality, ball-bearing assisted exercise wheels. There’s an unexploited market here… Very much fun, my good man!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! But those exercise wheels should be made out of carbon fiber. The metal ones tend to collapse! Magnetic Guinea Pigs could be an extraordinary source of green (brown and cream?) energy. They might solve our future power needs. 😉 Glad you had fun. Thanks so much! 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

