Red Button Syndrome – Chimera 66

Red Button Syndrome

“That’s perty!” said the carnival-goer.

“Careful!” said Bolizaar the Magician. “That’s a magic kaleidoscope. Looking into it traps you inside.”

The carnival-goer looked anyway. “Wow! There’s folks in here. They’s all screamin’ an…”

*poof*

“Boss!” called Patoo the Dwarf. “Another one disappeared!”

Bolizaar face-palmed.

“What’ll we do, Boss?”

Bolizaar scowled. “I swear. I’m gonna make a scary-looking box that reads, ‘DANGER! Do NOT put MONEY inside!'”
_________________________________
This week at Grammar Ghoul Press’ Chimera 66 writing challenge, the word prompt is: Kaleidoscope. Exactly, no more no less than, 66 words may be written with the word kaleidoscope included. I had fun with this one. I hope you did too. Look here for more stories answering the weekly challenge: http://www.grammarghoulpress.com/chimera-66-writing-challenge-11/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Red Button Syndrome – Chimera 66

  1. List of X says:

    Hmmm… this caleidoscope sounds like a very cost-effective solution to a problem of prison overpopulation….

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Could be handy. Just give them to the career criminals and tell them not to look at. They do the rest.

      It’s also a handy exercise in Darwinism. It control the population outside the prison system. Whoever is left should be generally smarter and, most importantly, able to follow instructions. 😉

      Like

  2. Lyn says:

    An alternative to prisons? What a brilliant idea Mr. X 🙂 I had a kaleidoscope once. I used it to travel to other dimensions. I think I was about ten at the time. Another good one, Eric.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Aha! You traveled to other dimensions too? I thought I was the only one. I was about the same age, but I don’t do that anymore. There’s other ways to visit other dimensions… 😉 Thanks Lyn!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen says:

    Sounds like they need to retire that thing from the carnival. Great title, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There is something so enticing, even mystical when you are warned not to touch it… My mom once told me not to touch that hot iron…you know, the one you touched with the flat side of your open palm?

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. People are funny that way. As soon we know we shouldn’t do something, we’re more fascinated then ever to try it. That’s why the magician considers making a scary box in the end. Thanks so much for stopping in! 🙂

      Like

  5. Oh, man! I hate when that happens! j/k. Good one, EA. You made me laugh!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tony L. says:

    haha I love how he’s willing to turn paying customers away in an effort to stop trapping them inside there! Enjoyed this one, but, I mean, c’mon–you’re an excellent wordsmith! Brilliant as always!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Michael says:

    You just know people would fall for the “Do not put money inside this box” trick.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Suzanne says:

    Ah, humans. Just can’t resist doing something they’ve been advised not to. Of course, now I’m wondering what it’s like inside a kaleidoscope… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

