Truth in Advertising – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Dee Lovering

Truth in Advertising

The seaside market in the old Grecian city would amaze most. Vincent noticed none of it. He felt like arguing.

The sign on the food stall read:

World’s Best Gyros!
Even the Gods eat my food!

“That false advertising!” accused Vincent.

“Is all true!” retorted Damaris, the stall owner.

Vincent crossed his arms. “The Gods eat your food?”

Just then, a glowing man wearing winged shoes and a winged hat, flew in and landed before the stall.

Damaris handed him a bag of 12 gyros. Hermes flew off with a wave.

Damaris raised a questioning eyebrow to Vincent.

Vincent shrugged. “I’ll take two, please.”
_____________________________
Author’s Notes:

Among many other things, Hermes was the Grecian Messenger of the Gods, known for his winged cap and shoes. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hermes

There are many foods I love, but Gyros is my favorite food of all.

Each week, the Friday Fictioneers join for a luncheon of Gyros and Sambvca on a Mediterranean island (I WISH!). Nonetheless, we still write flash fiction from photos for frolic and fun. Look here for more stories from some wonderful folks based upon the first pic above: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/1-may-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Truth in Advertising – Friday Fictioneers

  1. ansumani says:

    Did Hermes pay? Funny story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll take one of those, please–but with falafels please. I’m vegetarian! Great story! I’m still smiling and craving some Mediterranean food… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colline says:

    Brought a smile to my face 🙂
    That meal does look delicious – I am not surprised the gods would eat it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Love to hear that. Smiles make the world turn. Gyros really are wonderful. I’m craving one right now. Zeus might be sending out for one this very moment. 😉 Thanks so much, Colline! 🙂

      Like

  4. jwdwrites says:

    I’ve got to agree with you on gyros, I would have bought some anyway instead of arguing – how I miss them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. List of X says:

    Hey, this flying dude with a winged helmet and sandals could be anybody! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Indira says:

    What is Gyros, looks yummy,recipe please. Nice story and good advertising.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ccute, even if the place was Barcelona.
    I wouldn’t know Barcelona from Greece.
    But I do know a good gyro when I see one.
    And “I’ll have what he’s having.”

    Randy

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I was thinking Spain but wasn’t sure. I just ran with Greece, especially because I love Greek food. Later, I saw it was Barcelona. Oops! I think I let my stomach dictate my writing. 😉 Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks! 🙂

      Like

  8. Danny James says:

    Still laughing!

    DJ

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Francesca Smith says:

    Hermes had the right idea. That does look nice. Good story!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. babso2you says:

    Another funny one oh WordMaster! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. gahlearner says:

    Hah, this is funny. I feel somewhat guilty, being one of these argumentative people, too. I’ll take two gyros, too. With lots and lots of delicious garlic sauce, please. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. That’s me too. I like to say I enjoy ‘debate,” though. I’m not into yelling, just a fine bit of “intellectual dueling.” I always get extra tzatziki sauce on the side and pour it on with every bite. Mmm. Ohmigosh, I’m drooling!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Funny story. Let me know when Aphrodite checks in.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dear Eric,

    The photo is anywhere you want it to be. It’s photo prompt not photo illustration. Personally I’ve always thought Mediterranean food was fit for the gods. Extra lamb and feta please. Delicious story.

    Shalom

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Rochelle. That’s kinda what I thought. What I was hoping anyway. 😉 For me, I am addicted to Mediterranean food. From Turkey all the way to Iran, I’ll take it all. Lamb and Feta are some of my faves. Mmm mmm! Thank you kindly. 🙂

      Like

  14. Shey says:

    Yum! I’d like some of that too.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. afairymind says:

    They must be good gyros! An interesting story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Yummm. I haven’t had a Gyros in a very long time. Delicious! Loved loved loved your story!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. storydivamg says:

    Cute story this week, Eric. I guess that street vendor does have something to brag about after all.

    Cheers!
    MG

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Nan Falkner says:

    Well done and makes me hungry for a sandwich! Good job! Nan 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Incredibly fun story! Truth in advertising is so rare.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

