Fountain of Smarts – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Madison Woods

Fountain of Smarts

Harold the patent inspector looked at the invention dubiously. The machine, a collection of parts cobbled together, ended with an ordinary spigot. He gazed at the clear fluid in the bowl below it. “Looks like water to me.”

Warburton shooed away a squirrel prowling beside the garage. “Mostly, but I’m telling you the chemical reactions within raise the IQ a LOT!”

“You’ve tested it?”

Warburton waffled. “A bit.”

Harold rolled his eyes and turned around. “Thank you for your time.”

Watching from a nearby tree, one squirrel turned to the other and said, “Told you he’d never believe it.”
_________________________________
Each week, the Friday Fictioneers compose flash fiction from a photo prompt. Won’t you join us? Look here to see what other people wrote: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/05/06/8-may-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Fountain of Smarts – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Hey, this is terrific. Unique creativity for sure. I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. storydivamg says:

    Haha! This was a funny take for the week’s prompt. Nice work, Eric.

    Cheers!
    MG

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Francesca Smith says:

    A very imaginative take on the prompt. I think that patent inspector needs to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. List of X says:

    Maybe the first step in presenting such an invention should be to first offer the inspector a drink of water… or “water”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      It might be difficult to convince him that it’s even safe to drink. I think the first thing is animal testing before presenting it to the patent office. Apparently, it works rather well on rodents…

      Like

  5. What a great ending! I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. micklively says:

    It’s a clever joke. Reminds me of the one about the talking dog act.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dear Eric,

    There are a few people to whom I’d love to serve this beverage. It might raise their IQ’s to remedial. But I digress. You made me laugh out loud. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Same here. I need to give a few gallons of the stuff to some people. With that, they might attain the IQ of a Petunia. 😉 Glad you got a laugh. Thanks very much, Rochelle! 🙂

      Like

  8. Love the squirrels, you made me smile with this.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hah – I loved this. The last line really made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. babso2you says:

    I loved this story! I need to give some of that liquid to two of the people on the HOA board. No,,,Wait….You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make them drink!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Heaven help us.. squirrels are too clever already! Fun flash, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I know! Those tricky little beasts. I had to buy a special bird feeder to keep them out of the bird seed. Glad you had fun with this. Thanks kindly! 🙂

      Like

  12. gahlearner says:

    Hehe, squirrels will take over and be the new dominant species. This was fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. LOL. Loved the talking squirrels.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. And from these waters came Albert, Theodore and little what’s his name…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Margaret says:

    Most enjoyable. I think the squirrel might have a bit of a flair for market analysis. Warburton should bring him in as a partner.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

