Yanking the Chain – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: C. Hase

Yanking the Chain

The chain leading to the sea was massive and ancient. Each link was taller than a man. Real estate tycoon J.R. Fleming considered it an eyesore before his newly completed $2-Billion resort. Four earth-movers, each the size of a house, were poised to drag the chain away.

Fleming watched the work from above. A 7-foot tall man approached him, heavy muscles glistening in the Greek sun. “Great men from the past have feared that chain,” he said.

“So? I am a greater man!” spat Fleming, and strode away angrily.

Hercules shrugged and muttered, “I’m just sayin’, The Kraken hates getting his chain yanked.”
______________________________
Author’s Notes:

An Earth-Mover:

The Kraken:

This written for the Friday Fictioneers. Look here for more stories answering this weekly prestigious writing challenge: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/06/03/5-june-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Yanking the Chain – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Me thinks you are yanking our chain! 😉 I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never heard of a kraken, now I will beware and not yank his chain. I think Fleming will be unpleasantly surprised. Well done, especially bringing Hercules into the mix.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ansumani says:

    I guess we will find out soon who is the greater man…nice story.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gahlearner says:

    Hehehe, Hercules is not to be trifled with, nor is a Kraken. This is great fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Archon's Den says:

    Which is larger, the Kraken, or Fleming’s ego?? We are soon to find out. Nice Classical take. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dave says:

    But imagine the fishing story you have if you haul Kraken ashore!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Francesca Smith says:

    I say listen to Hercules. No one would want a Kraken swallowing them whole. Creative take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dear Eric,

    You made me laugh. I think Mr. Fleming is in for a huge awakening. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  9. phylor says:

    Good thing he wasn’t “pulling his leg.” Looks like the Kraken has lots of them.
    As usual, you had me laughing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. If I hold my laptop up to my ear, I can hear Sir Laurence! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. storydivamg says:

    Nice! Hercules is a good character for this week. I’ve seen him a few places. Love the ending line here.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Marie! That giant chain, possibly leading into the Aegean, just lends itself to something with Hercules. Glad you liked the finish, and thank you kindly! 🙂

      Like

  12. micklively says:

    John Wyndham will be proud of you.
    Good piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jan Brown says:

    And “Release the Kraken!” were the last words he ever heard 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  14. afairymind says:

    Oh dear! I think that property tycoon might soon become a tasty snack for a grumpy Kraken! Great story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Shey says:

    Yikes! “RELEASE THE KRAKEN!” hehehe

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I hope he eats J.R. Fleming for being so arrogant! Ha Ha! Wonderful story – as always!

    Like

  17. Oh the Kraken! I think the complex is not going to be built.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Ups! This was great, really loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Indira says:

    Very amusing. Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

