Hell Is On Earth – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Hell Is On Earth

“Rules are rules,” said the bank man, Mr. Boehner.

“Predator!” accused Danica, sobbing. “You created that loan with those damned balloon payments.”

“We’ve no money!” glared Paul.

Boehner shrugged. “You could sell some things.” He looked up at their ornate wooden chandelier. “That’ll fetch a pretty penny.”

“It’s a family heirloom!” shrieked Danica. “And it’s magical.”

“Magical?”

“Stand under it and it sends you to the place on Earth where you most deserve to be.”

Boehner stood beneath it looking incredulous. “Like this?”

*poof*

Before the portal closed, they saw where he went.

“My,” grinned Paul. “I guess Hell really is on Earth!”
______________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers weekly writing challenge. Look here to see what other people wrote in answer to the photo prompt above: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/19-june-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Hell Is On Earth – Friday Fictioneers

  1. “poof” now if only he took the balloon payment owed with him! Great story! Would it work on credit cards? I mean you throw them in and the entire company disappears? I know, silly, silly me, but I can dream, can’t I? Wonderful read! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Wouldn’t it be nice if it did? Then again, with whole companies disappearing, Hell might fill up pretty fast. Still, I wouldn’t shed a tear. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you enjoyed this. Thank you much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Makes me wonder, if he went to Earth and Hell, which world were they in? πŸ™„ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Earth of course. Some theorize that Hell is right here on Earth. Since the chandelier only sends you somewhere on Earth, and the Boehner ended up in Hell, it must be on Earth…somewhere.

      Like

  3. Well done! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. And that put a close on foreclosure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Not sure about that. Perhaps they’ll just send another bank man? The bank might have to run through a lot of employees before they can claim the house!

      Like

  5. ansumani says:

    Hell is where we don’t want to be….Nice story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I want one please. Lovely story.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. List of X says:

    I’m pretty sure he went to Congress – there’s a Boehner there now.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LOL! Great story! I wonder if the Banker knows it is hell or does he think he’s at the bank? haha

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Danny James says:

    And another Bank of America employee bites the dust.

    DJ

    Liked by 1 person

  10. micklively says:

    There are people who’d like to do that to all bankers. Alas, you’d have to get to the back of a very long queue.
    Good piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dear Eric,

    Could I possibly borrow that chandelier? I know some people I’d love to have stand under it. πŸ˜‰ Clever story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Are there banks in hell do you think? If there are I’ll still have access to my money if I end up there and I’ll be able to buy a ticket to the other place. Sorry, I’m rambling.

    Rosey Pinkerton’s blog

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Oh, there’s lots of banks, loan sharks, embezzlers, politicians, and other criminal enterprises in Hell. Best to end up in Heaven if you can. Then you don’t need money. I like rambling. Thanks much for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. BrainRants says:

    It sent him to California, I surmise. Pretty harsh. Only lawyers should go there.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ha! Great story! Thats how John gets his ultra tan… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  15. If only πŸ™‚ I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Liz Young says:

    That’s one house I won’t be accepting an invitation to visit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Well, bear in mind, the chandelier only sends someone where they “deserve” to go. A kind person would be sent to a lovely place! Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Like

  17. Shey says:

    Yikes! i guess he deserved it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Margaret says:

    What a great way to get rid of villains and nuisances. And it’s guilt free because they go where they deserve to be. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. phylor says:

    After Rochelle borrows the chandelier, could I have it next. There are some villains to put in their place, but there are nice people who are deserving to go to a better place on Earth.
    As usual, a great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. storydivamg says:

    Seems this couple could make some money by using that chandelier’s powers. Great story–I’m amazed at all you jammed into your 100 words this week.

    All my best,
    MG

    Liked by 1 person

  21. gahlearner says:

    This could be very telling if they commercialized it. People are afraid of being sent to where they deserve to be while they pretend to be nice… hm… not sure I’d want to face that thing. Great story. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! I know what you mean. I don’t know anyone who is Lilly White. Perhaps the chandelier just takes a balance. In my experience, the better people in the world are the ones all too aware of their flaws. They’d be the ones most afraid to use the chandelier, but they’d also be the ones to receive the most positive benefit! Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Wow, Eric. There are no second chances with that light. I wouldn’t want to know if people were going to the flames. It would give me nightmares. It makes me want to stay away from standing under hanging lamps. Well done with great dark humor. πŸ˜€ — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I know. But for me, if someone who callously preys upon others and destroys lives, goes to the flames, I just can’t feel too bad about that. A sensitive soul like you needn’t worry. If you get sent anywhere, it’s probably a beautiful place. πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much, Suzanne! πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

