Latest Cooking

My wife likes watching cooking shows all the time. She’s more into it than me, but I do watch sometimes…and I’ve been learning. After watching all that fantastic food, well, I want something nice too. Here are some of the foods I’ve made lately.

Korean Barbequed Short Ribs. Miso soup with Tofu, Straw Mushrooms, and Green Onion. Spinach salad with Orange Peppers. Dressing is an Orange reduction with garlic, rice vinegar, salt, and lemon juice,
IMG_6472

I love breaded marinated artichokes. Recently, my favorite place to get them changed menus. A sad day for me. So I had to make them myself. I included an aioli dipping sauce with mayo, garlic, capers, salt, lemon juice. Very tangy!
IMG_6627

While pregnant, Shey could not eat runny eggs (a favorite for her) since its not good for the baby. After giving birth, all bets were off and we could celebrate. I made corned beef hash with white wine, coriander, and sumac. I added sliced tomatoes with red wine vinegar, salt, and dill weed.
IMG_6784

It was Fourth of July and time for grilling. Hamburger included a bit of onion soup mix, worcestershire, and oregano. Soy sauce dribbled on during grilling. Tomatoes were grilled, and I added fresh spinach, guacamole, American cheese (of course on our independence day), and stone ground mustard.
IMG_6818

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Latest Cooking

  1. julie says:

    Yum; hope you’ll cook when we get there…?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyn says:

    They all look yummy…but you can have my tofu. I’ve never eaten artichoke, but the idea of it being breaded, deep fried and served with an aioli dipping sauce sounds delish. There’s nothing nicer than a homemade hamburger. Many, many years ago, my mum used to make rissoles, meatloaf and hamburger patties with the one basic recipe. She always added a beaten egg and a packet of spring vegetable soup mix to the ground beef. I like the idea of some french onion soup mix being added…yum! French onion soup mix goes with just about anything…well, maybe not ice cream πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      They all turned out lovely. Tasted great. And yes, onion soup always works great in hamburger. I sometimes put it in meatloaf as well. πŸ˜‰ Marinated artichoke is grand to me. You can buy it in ajar most of the time. I put them in a lot of foods including spaghetti. Yum! Thanks so much, Lyn!

      Like

  3. storydivamg says:

    Looks like you don’t need to watch those cooking shows, Eric. The pictures make it look as though you have culinary arts down to a science.

    I’m especially interested in the breaded artichoke hearts. My wife has to stay away from gluten and most dairy, but I can often put together GF versions of fried foods that she enjoys. She loves artichokes, so I might have to try to whip up some of the breaded ones for a special treat. What do you use for the breading?

    Happy July!

    Marie Gail

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Marie! Breading the artichokes is really easy. Beat some eggs and coat it over the artichokes. I used Italian bread crumbs, simple as that, and rolled the egg-covered artichokes over that. I don’t know if there’s gluten-free bread crumbs, but perhaps you’ve found a substitute? I hope you can make it for your wife as a surprise. If you do, let me know how it goes. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks delicious! Hey – can I come to your house for dinner? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. All I can say is Yummy!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shey says:

    Yummy! Lucky wife. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

