The Living Balloon – Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Photo by: pixabay.com

The Living Balloon

I knew Clara’s secret.

I first met her in Pennsylvania. The balloons she sold were uniquely shaped and colored. Always different, like snowflakes. Unfortunately, her speech impediment repelled most people. She rarely sold anything. That’s when I stepped in. I’m an old wind bag. I can talk for days. It’s my gift.

Clara had a different gift. She could eat odd chemicals and paint and blow out beautiful balloons. I didn’t know if she was alien or mutant. I didn’t care. Her balloons were gorgeous.

Once, at a fairgrounds in Oklahoma, her head deflated into its natural shape. It was bluish and shaped like an octopus with an elephant’s trunk.

I leaped to action. “Clara! Your head!” I stage-whispered. I began working the crowd, getting them laughing. Clara refilled her head and suddenly looked human again. “Voila! The Living Balloon!” I called. The crowd cheered. We sold out in minutes.

Afterward, Clara apologized for losing focus. “I guess I blow as a business partner,” she groaned.

“Cheer up,” I said. “At least you don’t suck!”
____________________________________
Written for the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers writing challenge. Look here to see what other folks wrote based upon the pic above: https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2015/08/18/fffaw-week-of-08-18-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Living Balloon – Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

  1. Haha! She would have a problem if she “sucked.” Cute story! I’m glad he went in as a partner and hopefully she isn’t an alien but, just full of a lot of hot air. Love it! Thank you for participating in the FFfAW challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. afairymind says:

    This is such an amusing take on the prompt! Nicely done, Eric. πŸ™‚ I’m glad she had him to step in and be accepting enough of her differences to help her out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. He’d spent a long time with the circus so he was unusually accepting of people who are different. I had quite a bit more story sketched out in my mind. This is very abbreviated. Still, I think the gist of it comes through. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. luckyjc007 says:

    It takes all kinds to make a world…everyone has their own abilities and contributions to make and working together is beneficial to both. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      It really does. There’s more to this story. I just didn’t have room. Carla was destitute mostly, and chased out of seven different states when folks saw her true form. With poor communication ability she didn’t know how to defend herself or even explain. The narrator, “Mac” simply accepted her gifts at face value, and ran with them, protecting her and at the same time benefiting his own interests. They both made a killing selling balloons. I wanted this to be funny, but also an allegory pointing out the benefits of tolerance. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks very much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Lyn says:

    Hooo boy! I bet you got a bang out of writing that one πŸ˜€ πŸ™„

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kalpana Solsi says:

    An able salesman is good for a ballooning business.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. milliethom says:

    Funny story, Eric! I love the line, ‘I guess I blow as a business partner’. The images you create are hilarious. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

