The Practical Realist – Mega Short-Story

Photo by: Matthew Wright

The Practical Realist

“I don’t like it,” said Biologist Smithson. He steadfastly kept his suit sealed.

The other landing party members took off their helmets and spread out to investigate the sandy beach of a water inlet.

“Why not?” said Captain Meier. “This planet is in the Goldilocks Zone. The soil can support terrestrial plants. The air is breathable. What’s wrong with it?”

“There’s always a down-side,” rebutted Smithson. “There’s a saying, ‘If it’s too cute, there’s something to refute.’ ”

“You’re a pessimist,” muttered Meier.

“Practical Realist,” countered Smithson. “Raccoons are really cute until the vicious critters bite you. Never trust anything that’s too cute.”

Ensign Ponce saw it first. It looked and yipped like a puppy. Its tail was insanely long, leading into the water. It’s movements were ungainly, the universal sign of an immature animal. “Oh it’s SO CUTE!” exclaimed Ponce as he ran to it.

“Don’t touch it!” warned Smithson.

Too late. When Ponce reached the puppy it leaped and bit into his arm. Its lengthy tail wound firmly around his limb. Ponce shrieked as he was yanked off his feet. An enormous fish breached the water and reeled in its tongue/puppy in a blink. It swallowed Ponce whole and disappeared into the dark waters.

Captain Meier grimaced and sighed. “How did that saying go again?”
________________________________
Written for Matthew Wright’s Mega Short-Story writing challenge. Look for the original prompt right here: https://mjwrightnz.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/this-weeks-mega-short-story-challenge-9/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Practical Realist – Mega Short-Story

  1. marrawrites says:

    This is actually awesome! There was something slightly off about the start that made me unsure whether it was going to be good but it was amazing! Great short story πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Well, thank you! I’m glad it worked out in the end for you. Can you tell me what was “slightly off” at the beginning? Still, I’m happy that you ultimately enjoyed it. Thank you kindly! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Joy Pixley says:

    A very reasonable warning! As soon as I saw the long tail going into the water, I thought, uh-oh….

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! And that’s what I expect smart readers to think. That puppy looks too much like a lure. In this world, fish go fishing. Thanks much, Joy! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Technical question from someone still new to WordPress: how is it that you can “like” my comment on your page but I don’t see any way to “like” your reply? (Or any other comments, for that matter.) On some blogs I can like comments, on others I can’t. Is that a setting on your blog or am I missing something? Put another way: are other readers liking your comments?

        Liked by 1 person

      • EagleAye says:

        I don’t remember setting it that way. It might be a feature of the blog template I’m using. So it would appear on some blogs but not others. I’ll check on that though and get back to you. And yes, other folks are liking my comments and I can like theirs.

        Like

      • Joy Pixley says:

        … And now it’s not giving me the option to reply to your last comment, only your first (maybe it will still look right in the end). If other people are able to like your comments then I’m not sure how it can be your theme. But if I can like comments on other blogs… Ugh. Anyway, in the meantime, just imagine that I “like” your comments, because I would if I could.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. List of X says:

    You’d think that by the advanced space age, we’d already have invented disposable extraterrestrial-puppy-probing robots…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyn says:

    “Oh, a cute little puppy. I’m feeling soooo happy.” SNAP “Happy feeling gone.” LOL now that is a whole new angle on Angle Fish πŸ˜€ My Mum always used to say, “You never can tell with a dog…do you believe the wag or the bark?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I am impressed, Lyn! You knew the exact animal I took inspiration from. You know your animals. I grew up with dogs in the house and learned to read their body language. I think I’d trust the wag more than the bark. I especially wouldn’t trust a very long tailed puppy. πŸ˜‰ Thanks much, Lyn! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. luckyjc007 says:

    As the old saying goes…”seeing is believing”…I think captain Meier is a true believer now…perhaps he will not view someone a pessimist next time. I enjoyed this story. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. Cap’n Meier gained a different outlook after that. Sometimes it’s not pessimism, it’s just taking smart precautions. We shouldn’t always think things are all bad, but by the same token, we shouldn’t assume things are always good either. Wisdom goes a long way. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. R. Todd says:

    Practical Realist. I like that turn of phrase.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

