Failure to Specify – Friday Fictioneers

Photo by: Jennifer Pendergast

Glenn and Brad hiked to the lake. Brad asked, “What now?”

Glenn tossed a silvery cube beside a dead log. “Canoe,” he commanded. Shortly, the log was consumed and a canoe rested in its place.

“Incredible!” cheered Brad.

“Nano machines,” explained Glenn. “They can make anything from anything.” He tossed more cubes and a complete campsite appeared from forest detritus.

“My turn!” insisted Brad.

“Sure. Just be specific.”

“Sexy auburn-haired female,” intoned Brad.

Minutes later, the two rowed the canoe in a panic. “Is she still there?” whimpered Brad.

“Yep,” said Glenn. “Your ‘sexy auburn-haired female’ grizzly bear is still following us.”
_______________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers flash fiction writing challenge. Look here to find the other Fictioneer stories right here: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2015/09/09/11-september-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Failure to Specify – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Hahaha! Serves him right for being so “woman” greedy. LOL!! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yup, you have to be exact in your specification,

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Also, extremely imaginative!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Grrrrrrrr I met that girl this summer in Alaska with her three cups. We gave her a very wide berth. Good story.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joy Pixley says:

    Funny, although I was just about to write a too-similar piece about creating a canoe magically from a log. Back to the drawing board.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joy Pixley says:

    Also, can’t help myself…

    As they say, “sexy” is in the eye of the bear-holder.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Dear Eric,

    Oops. There’s sexy and then there’s sexy. Clever and funny. I enjoyed this one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Danny James says:

    Need to be a bit more specific I think.

    DJ

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lyn says:

    Hmm, perhaps the Nano machines have developed their own warped sense of humour. I wonder where they get it from πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  10. List of X says:

    I have the same problem at work – if you don’t make directions specific enough, stuff goes wrong and the boss turns into a grizzly bear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah, same here. Except my boss was a grizzly bear even if I was specific. In fact she was worse when I was exactly right. Seems she thought all the technical details was a load of bull. It wasn’t, but I could never convince her of that.

      Like

  11. charlypriest says:

    Had to smile at this one. ThankΒ΄s for the morning smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. ceayr says:

    Funny stuff, EA, well built story.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Great twist! I knew they were in for trouble!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dale says:

    What part of be specific did he not understand?
    That type of technology could have saved quite a few fights, I’m thinking! (Or created more!)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ansumani says:

    LOL. I expectied a sci-fi fun story in this blog and you delivered a great one – as usual and made it sexy too (for the bears that’s rumored to roam around our town ) . Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I do aim to please and I’m glad to deliver on expectations. This was sexy…if you’re a grizzly bear. Maybe your bear neighbors will enjoy it? πŸ˜‰ I’m happy you enjoyed this one. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. Can I specifically say that this was funny. Loved the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This made me grin and my family are looking at me oddly 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  18. gravadee says:

    Nice take on the prompt

    Liked by 1 person

  19. E.A., this is a great story of either “Be careful what you wish for” or “Be very, very specific in what you wish for.” I really enjoyed it.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Kalpana Solsi says:

    Enjoyed your sexy story ..

    Liked by 1 person

  21. gahlearner says:

    Hehehe, I love it. Serves him right. Great idea, the nano machines. Could I have some of them, pretty please?

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Sure does. He was a little sloppy with them. And sure I can send you some, but you know, read the owner’s manual first, okay? We don’t need another giant staypuff marshmallow man. πŸ˜‰

      Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Margaret says:

    Very good, and very funny.That nano machine is a bit of a worry – I’m not sure I’d trust it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      You could trust it, but it would take a careful knowledge of how it works. Working with fire, for instance, is quite safe provided you know how to use it safely. Brad, didn’t work with the nano machines safely. I’m glad you enjoyed this. Thanks much, Margaret!

      Like

  23. elmowrites says:

    Good job they got the cane ready first!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I guess he wasn’t specific enough. Hilarious and well written, Eric. πŸ˜€ — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

