Pep Talk

Photo by: The Reclining Gentleman

Warren was climbing the guardrail on the bridge when Henry found him.

Henry said, “Dude! Your life is worth something. It’s can’t be that bad.”

Warren shot back, “Oh really? When I joined in ISIS in Syria I thought it would be fun and fulfilling. It wasn’t.”

“Hold on,” grimaced Henry. “You joined a group that rapes and murders helpless civilians, and you thought that would be fulfilling?”

“Yeah.”

Henry stared. “You want help with thoughts of suicide?”

Warren shook his head. “I don’t want a pep talk.”

“Nah,” said Henry. “I was going to give you a push.”
__________________________________
Author’s Notes:

ISIS means Islamic State in Iraq and Syria. Their twisted rendition of Muslim Law (Sharia) is the center of their, allegedly religious, war in Iraq and Syria: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islamic_State_of_Iraq_and_the_Levant#Religious_and_minority_group_persecution

And now, foreigners who joined ISIS (or ISIL) are defecting for various reasons and returning. They’re not being received well. Forgive me if I have difficulty sympathizing with them:
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/dozens-isis-defectors-explained-why-155700686.html
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/09/21/world/europe/isis-defectors-reveal-disillusionment.html?_r=0

Written for the weekly Friday Fictioneers flash fiction challenge. Look here to see what other folks wrote:

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Pep Talk

  1. Dear Eric,

    Yep that would make me want to push him. It’s funny but not funny. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. unexpected reaction!! But very powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha! I’m with you. I wouldn’t push him but I wouldn’t talk him out of it either, LOL! This is like putting a bullseye on your back!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It would be tempting to give him a push but I probably couldn’t do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. micklively says:

    Much as I hate what ISIS are doing, I’m convinced more violence won’t help anyone.
    Good piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ceayr says:

    Strong piece, Eric.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dale says:

    Very difficult to feel bad about his choice. Maybe a huge gust of wind will come and make it all simple!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Powerful piece … thought provoking. To push or not to push … I would hope he’d decide that he should go over the railing and save him (his friend) the guilt if he pushed him. Well done ..!!!!
    Isadora ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you, Isadora! I suppose the answers to the question are as varied as those who consider it. If you push him, you become a murderer just like him. On the other hand, Warren’s mind is obviously distorted. He’s a danger to society.

      Thanks again for your thoughts! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • EagleAye says:

      He does. I don’t have patience or sympathy for anyone who joins ISIS. They aren’t fighting for their religious beliefs. They’re methods make that extremely clear. They’re nothing but a pack of psychotic murderers. I might not push Warren. I don’t want to think like him, but I wouldn’t talk him out of it.

      Like

  9. liz young says:

    That was definitely graveyard humour! Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sad to admit, but I really liked this one! Excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. luckyjc007 says:

    I have mixed feelings about it but I couldn’t bring myself to push him…I would rather he face the consequences of his actions and a quick jump to death would be easy on him. A person like that doesn’t deserve easy! A great story..another eye opener of the problems of today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      It seems a lot of folks have mixed feelings. That includes me. My only concern with him continuing living without punishment is: what would he do next? Where would he seek “fulfillment,” and how? Perhaps he’ll learn from the lesson, maybe not. There’s so many variables to consider. We have to be especially careful that a monstrosity doesn’t turn us into monsters.

      Glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks much!

      Like

  12. Indira says:

    He deserves a push really. Nice story.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Tell us how you really feel!
    Yupโ€ฆfeel that way too.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. gahlearner says:

    My first impulse was to help you push, but of course everyone else is right: that would make us like him. But the mere idea of wanting to join ISIL boggles the mind… Very good story, very thought provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yep. It’s seriously tempting, but not a good road to travel on. When I first read that ISIS/ISIL were getting many recruits from the Western world, I was shocked. What are they thinking? I still don’t understand it.

      Glad you liked the story. Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  15. Sumana Roy says:

    I don’t understand what makes the foreigners join ISIS…he really deserved that push…ugh…a nice write…

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Me neither. I chalk it up to a severe character flaw. Maybe poor parenting. Whatever the cause, individuals are still responsible for their actions. He really does deserve a push.

      Thanks kindly for the comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

