The Rookie Falconer

Photo by: Alastair Forbes

Sean the park custodian noted someone had driven to the top of the knoll in a 4×4 pickup truck. He walked up to join the young man standing there with binoculars. “Oy!” called Sean. “Enjoyin’ the view?”

“Sort of,” said the fellow. His flannel shirt and battered jeans matched the outdoorsy appearance of his mud-streaked truck. “I’m just looking for my bird.”

Your bird, Mr….?”

“MacCallum. Evan MacCallum.” He smiled sheepishly. “I’m a falconer. New at the game, I’m afraid. I seem to have lost my bird.”

“A falconer!” grinned Sean. “I’ve done a bit of that meself. Don’t you have a telemetry transmitter to track…uh…”

Evan blushed. “Her name is Tiny. No, I don’t. Like I said I’m new at this.”

Sean placed his hands on hips. Something wasn’t right about this lad. “Where’s your falconer’s glove?”

“I don’t have one. I’ve got that.” He pointed to a t-shaped wooden structure mounted to the pickup bed. It was covered in leather. A raw lamb’s leg dripped from a mount.

Sean scowled. “That’s not a glove! It’s a perch, and it’s far too large. Further, you should cut that meat into chunks. Your bird might choke! Evan, you’re poorly-equipped for the fine art of falconry! You should…

A massive shadow fell across the two men. A strong breeze blew up from the beats of twenty-eight foot, leathery wings. Tiny’s three-hundred pound dragon body struck the perch with substantial force, causing the entire truck to bounce.

“There she is!” exclaimed Evan. “Where have you been, girl?”

Tiny ripped the lamb leg free with foot-long claws. She gulped the entire gobbet down in a single go, and glared balefully at Sean.

“Right,” squeaked Sean as a stain spread across his slacks. “Seems you’re well-equipped after all!”
___________________________
Written for the Sunday Photo Fiction weekly writing challenge. Look here to see what stories other folks wrote: https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2015/10/11/sunday-photo-fiction-october-11th-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Rookie Falconer

  1. List of X says:

    Well, yeah, a falconer should at least be able to tell a falcon from a dragon. Totally a rookie mistake.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. pattisj says:

    Three-hundred pound–LOL It does whatever it wants to!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn says:

    LOL that’s some falcon πŸ™‚ I’d like to see them try to put a tracker on Tiny–something tells me it wouldn’t last very long. How on earth did you come up with this story from a picture of a big, barren hill (with a couple of sheep on it).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha! Love it! “Right,”squeaked Sean as a stain spread across his slacks.” LOL! A 300 lb. dragon bird! He ended up having to eat his words. Hahaha! This story is hilarious! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ceayr says:

    Well, we were just talking about unexpected places, weren’t we!
    Excellent piece.
    Although, I have to say, anything with a dragon is a flying start!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Indira says:

    I was too going to ask how did you get that story idea but your answer fully satisfied me. Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joetwo says:

    3oo pound onto a pickup truck. That can’t be good for the suspension.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the way he squeaked. Haha. Definitely a noob hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  9. luckyjc007 says:

    Instead of Sean giving Evan advise, Evan could certainly give Sean some advise on being a falconer! After all, he’s doing really well for someone that is “new at the game” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah, he is doing well, with dragons anyway. Traditional Falconry with falcons and hawks is more Sean’s style. I think Evan, and especially Tiny, caught him flat footed! Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

