The Remembrance

I like to keep it on my desk as a remembrance.

My executive secretary picked the cold black stone.

“Nice paperweight,” she said.

“It’s my heart,” I explained.

“You removed it?”

“Once I became a banker, I didn’t need it any more.”
__________________________

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Remembrance

  1. List of X says:

    It’d make a nice collateral.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theinnerzone says:

    oh! I did not see that ending. Great take.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn says:

    Oh palpable shot, my friend, palpable 😀
    The CEO of the ANZ bank over here is Oz has just been given a pay rise. His annual salary is now $11 million. As far as I’m concerned, that is just obscene.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      My god, that IS obscene. People that do really hard and dangerous work, like firemen and policemen never see that kind of money, but they do far more for the public good than any banker. *Sigh.* It’s a backwards world we live in. Glad you liked my jab. Thanks so much, Lyn! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Tina says:

    I probably wasn’t supposed to, but I giggled. I could actually picture this!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ohhhhhhh!!!! LOL…true that! You have tickled my funny bone…again! Thanks for the giggles. I can just see me waltzing in there and picking up the rock to look at it and the guy saying it is his heart, and me dropping it on the floor horrified. HA HA HA HA HA. I would so do that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. I’d drop it too! That would freak me out. Later, I think I wouldn’t be surprised a banker didn’t need his heart anymore. 😉 So happy you got laugh out of this. Thanks so much! 🙂

      Like

  6. Stacie says:

    Oh haha. He could have also been a hedge fund manager!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ellenbehm says:

    Your 42 words always make me laugh. I think there are a lot of heartless professions out there.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. luckyjc007 says:

    Funny 🙂 Enjoyed your story. I was a banker for 15 years, but I still have my heart. Maybe because I spent my time keeping the branches and departments within the laws so they would keep their jobs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Oh yeah, if you keep everybody on the straight and narrow, you get to keep your heart. It’s those guys that deal out predatory loans that are most at risk. 😉 Thanks much! 🙂

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!

