Serious Heartburn

Photo by: Alastair Forbes

Professor Tannehill pointed into the river where a tire bobbed in the current. “That’s all that’s left of it.”

Sheriff Pruitt watched for only a moment. He looked back at the monster trudging away in the distance. Luckily, it was still moving away. “Sorry about that, Prof,” he began.

“A beautiful ’67 Corvette,” sighed Tannehill. “Took me four years to refurbish it.”

“Yeah, that’s tough Prof, but considering there’s a monster terrorizing the countryside, I’ve got bigger concerns just now.” He pointed at the twenty-story tall monster still visible from miles away.

Tannehill glared. “That monster ate my ‘Vette! Substantial upgrades went into it.”

“Yeah, okay. Look, that thing is eating cars, bars, and people. I got bigger fish to fry. I gotta go help Sheriff Burris evacuate the next county.”

“Oh, you needn’t be in such a rush.”

Something about Tannehill’s smirk made him pause. “Why?”

“That ‘Vette was truly unique. One of those upgrades was a fusion power plant. I figure the magnetic bottle, containing a two-kiloton blast, should collapse any time now.” Tannehill reached into a cooler.

“You’re telling me your car was nuclear? And it’s in the thing’s belly?”

“Yep. He’s going to have some serious heartburn in a sec.”

The monster suddenly disappeared in a mushroom cloud.

Tannehill handed Pruitt a bottle. “Beer?”

Pruitt grinned. “Don’t mind if I do.”
_________________________________
Author’s notes:

I’ve noticed how my stories are often influenced by what’s been going on around me. I’m still recovering from a really nasty stomach flu. Couldn’t keep anything down. It’s why I’m a little late writing this. And now here I’m writing about indigestion. Go figure.

Written for Sunday Photo Fiction. Look here for the original prompt and a blue link to the stories other folks wrote for the week: https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2015/11/29/sunday-photo-fiction-november-29-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Serious Heartburn

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    That’s a good time to let go of a “vette!” And, I’m sure everyone in the countryside are glad he added all the upgrades to it! You wrote another great one! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      If you have to sacrifice a ‘vette it’s for a very good cause. At least all the other ‘vettes and classic cars were saved. Glad you enjoyed this one. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Great story. Lucky the monster was blown up before it decided to eat guitars! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn says:

    Glad you’re feeling better, Eric. They say every cloud has a silver lining, and in your case it did. Just think, you might never had written this little beauty if you hadn’t had the tummy bug. Hope everyone else is okay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you. Yeah, this is a fun one that came from a nasty illness. Small sacrifice, I guess. I’d be happy to never feel like that again, though. Everyone’s fine here now, thank you. Glad you liked this one. Thanks Lyn! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Funny he left a tire. Saving it for dessert?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jannatwrites says:

    That was an unexpected twist. I just have to wonder why he turned his car nuclear… I’d hate to be involved in a road-rage incident with him! Sorry you’ve been sick, but it inspired an interesting story. Hey, maybe I need to get sick so I’ll write some…. eh, never mind πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. I wouldn’t recommend getting sick for story inspiration. It’s a painful way to write. πŸ˜‰ Tannehill turned to fusion for his car as a experiment. Scientists just do stuff like that. Perhaps not the best guy to get into an accident with. πŸ˜‰ Thanks much, Jen! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I love this! I also love how they just “hung” out and had a beer at the end! Fabulous story Eric! That was one badass Vette!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A touch of class. I love it! Excellent story. Gave me a smile at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

