Managing Just Fine

Photo by: Mary Shipman

Lillian Mattingly stood merely 4’10” tall. At twenty-three she ran a general store alone. Unheard of in 1857.

Maddie Evenson, wealthy wife of the Mayor, tittered haughtily, “Still no man, yet?” She pointed at the dresses drying fifteen feet up. “Who reaches the high places?”

Lilly shrugged.

“And what if a customer…” Maddie sniggered. “…shorts you?”

She guffawed before skipping away in a flurry of ribbons.

Lilly spat. She reached out, her mutant arm stretching twenty feet to the door. Deftly, she batted Maddie’s heel as she exited.

Maddie fell face-first, in a cloud of ribbons.

Lilly called, “I’m managing just fine, thank you.”
_____________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers. Look here for the week’s prompt and a blue link to many other stories: https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/29-april-2016/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Managing Just Fine

  1. Felicia Hf says:

    Hahahah I love that ending!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jademwong says:

    I knew there’d be a twist, because your stories usually have one and I was not disappointed! Another fantastic story πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Eric,

    I’m shaking my head, muttering, “I shoulda known. I shoulda known.” For a brief moment I thought perhaps you were delving into some historical fiction. You left me laughing. Loved it. BTW my mother was 4’10”. She didn’t have a long stretchy arm but she did have super hearing. πŸ˜‰ I myself am a statuesque 5 foot nothing.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I always like to think there’s balance in the universe. In the final tally we’re all about even, I think. So if you aren’t gifted with great height, you just get something else. Your mother is proof of that. I’m not so tall, and here I’m blessed with this bizarre imagination. πŸ˜‰ You know I’m gonna throw something twisty in there. I almost feel like folks will be disappointed if I don’t. πŸ˜‰ Glad you laughed. My work is done. Thanks kindly, Rochelle!

      Like

  4. storydivamg says:

    Nice work! A fair few friends and family members of mine might be aliens, it turns out. Thanks for the heads up.

    MG

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wmqcolby says:

    Rochelle’s fantasy. πŸ˜€ Awesome!
    Really, though, a well-done story. Who knew, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mandibelle16 says:

    What an interesting skill/ abnormality to have. Very useful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. subroto says:

    Ha! Ha! Definitely managing fine I’d say. Nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lyn says:

    I did wonder where this one would end. LOL history and aliens…who’d a thunk it πŸ™‚ The mayor’s wife reminded me of the bratty young girl in Little House on the Prairie Being short is no impediment. My mother was small in stature and while she didn’t have extendable arms, she did have a walking stick which could trip up evil doers (shop lifters) nicely thank you…especially if they were running from the police πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Bahaha! I like your mother. Those walking sticks can be very handy. Height is no real impediment if you use your head.

      Someday, I’ll have to really trip ya’ll up and actually do a non-SciFi piece. πŸ˜€

      Thanks much, Lyn! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Archon's Den says:

    I remember ‘Plastic Man’ from comic books of the ’50s and ’60s, long before The Fantastic Four. Lilly might have been his grandmother.
    Cutely twisted story, as usual. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Mike says:

    Your writing just fine, you tripped me up, I to thought here comes a historical piece. Mike

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The Voice says:

    Mutant arms? That’s a bit of a stretch. πŸ™‚

    Good story. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. oldentimes says:

    I wish I knew Maddie, she knows how to handle things

    Liked by 1 person

  13. gahlearner says:

    All the time I was wondering about some people, and now you explain it to me. Aliens are amongst us and have been for some time, as it seems. Fun story, I like Lily.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Indira says:

    Fantastic. She is definitely managing fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. A weird and funny tale. All short people should have stretchy arms. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. IfeomaO says:

    Feisty character I think- she’s doing better than managing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah, she is, on both counts. She’s so sneaky about her ability, nobody knows just how well she’s doing. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping in! πŸ™‚

      Like

  17. Now I’m wondering what other mutant powers she has. One of her descendants wasn’t Elastigirl was she? Hilarious, Eric. πŸ˜€ — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

