The Naughty

Photo by: Jade M. Wong

Photo by: Jade M. Wong

Their fruit glowing with light, the rarest Christmas trees in Human space rose above them, and Ethan owned an entire grove. “You don’t pick out trees,” said Ethan. “The trees pick you. They look into your soul and know evil folk from good folk, the naughty versus the nice.”

Walter Nasser sighed. Ridiculous new age crap, he thought. They’re just plants. No plant can do that.

“I see you’ve got no security,” said Walter.

“Don’t need it,” said Ethan. “Never had a tree stolen.”

You idiot! You’ve never seen a career criminal like me, have you? Each of these trees is worth half a million credits. With no security, I’ll just crack your head open take them all!

“Interesting. Do you fertilize them?”

“Nope. They feed themselves.”

Yeah, sure.

“The trees are predatory, you know.”

While Ethan turned away, Walter raised a deadly club to strike. Bye bye, you…

“But don’t worry, they only eat the evil men,” chuckled Ethan. He turned around. “Hello? Mr. Nasser? Mr Nasser, where are you?”
___________________________________
Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers writing challenge.

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Naughty

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    I’ve been reading your stories too long, I think, Eric — I knew what was going to happen to that idiot as soon as he said he’d never had a tree stolen. Ruh-roh, potential thief, weren’t you listening? I guess not! Fun stuff, as always. Thanks for the giggle!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahahaha! I like those trees! They only eat the evil ones. We could use some of these in the real world. LOL! Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn says:

    Naughty Mr Nasser! LOL I’m like Joy, we’ve been reading your stories for so long we know or can usually guess what’s going to happen. But even so, the punchline never ceases to entertain πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yeah, I’m pretty consistent I think. Guys who maim, murder, destroy, bully, etc…they tend to die…horribly. It’s the way things ought to be. πŸ˜‰ I’m just happy if the stories still entertain. Thanks much, Lyn! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  4. luckyjc007 says:

    There’s our solution! Send everyone to this tree farm and ….Presto! We rid the world of evil people. I love it! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mandibelle16 says:

    A Christmas tree that feeds itself, a predator on those who are evil. Very good idea πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. afairymind says:

    I think we need more trees like this! Walter got exactly what he deserved. Great story, Eric. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. HA HA! Awesome! Great ending… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Indira says:

    LOL. We need these trees very much here.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

