The Hardboiled Buy

Photo by: Jellico’s Stationhouse

She was sleek and slender when I found her. A high performance philly that liked things fast with a touch of danger. This was no regular guy’s bicycle.

I said, “I see a shadow, but no bike.”

“Yeah, pal,” drawled the fingersmith*. “It’s deh foyst stealth bike. It’s indivisible.”

“Invisible?”

“Yeah, dat’s it.”

That could be handy for a P.I. “Where’d you get this?”

“C’mon! Questions among friends?”

“It’s hot, ain’t it Mr. stickyfingers?”

“Eh. Lighly toasted.”

“Maybe it’s mine already…and my copper pals don’t hear nothing.”

“Yeah shoor, Mr. Harlow.”

And that’s what began a beautiful relationship.
________________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers: https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/04/05/7-april-2017/

Author’s Notes:

*Fingersmith: A talented thief.
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=fingersmith

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Hardboiled Buy

  1. Dear Eric,

    I was just about ready to send out a search party! Good to see you here. Love the voices in this. I could hear them. Stealth bike, eh? Where can I get one?

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 2 people

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Not to worry. The US Marines pulled me out of the scrape I got into in Mauritania. πŸ˜‰ I just took a break for a bit to recharge the ol’ batteries. Glad you could hear the voices. Thanks so much, and thanks for keeping a lookout for me. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jellico84 says:

    Good write. Have missed you around the fictions. Glad you’re back.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. michael1148humphris says:

    A stealth bike as a philly, I love it

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Got some Damon Runyon going there, Eric. Good to see you back.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Love the first line. I it set the scene beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. List of X says:

    Do you realize how hard it is to fix a tire on an invisible bicycle?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. luckyjc007 says:

    Fun read..I think Mr. Stickyfingers and Mr. Harlow have reached an understanding. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. yarnspinnerr says:

    Loved the indivisible part. Fun read.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. gahlearner says:

    What fun. I want an in(di)visible bike too.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Michael Wynn says:

    Great dialogue and atmosphere

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

