The Real Reason

Photo by: Yarnspinner

Harold beamed as he sat on the roof garden with his oldest friends from the art world. They were clearly impressed.

“You’ve realized ostentatious works before, Harold,” said Marie. “Building a house in the Jurassic Period? This one tops them all!”

“You’re so kind.”

“Not at all,” chipped in Raul. “The contrast of modern architecture with an ancient period is positively delicious. How did you conceive it?”

“I just love the aesthetics of it,” said Harold.

“Uh huh.”

“Best to learn from humanity’s mistakes and impact the environment as little as possible.”

“Of course,” nodded Marie.

“Also, it’s quite hot here. Roof gardens cool the house efficiently.”

“Naturally, but I sense larger reasons.”

Harold suddenly swung a large metal flyswatter and crushed a mosquito nearly the size of a human fist.

“Gads! That’s big,” gasped Raul.

Harold looked down at the jungle from the safety of the roof’s edge. He shuddered. “Just wait till you see what those monsters feed upon!”
__________________________________________
Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/05/08/fffaw-challenge-week-of-may-9-2017/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Real Reason

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Many have no thought of the effect their actions have on anyone else or the environment. This is great and a cautionary tale that will be lost on the masses.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. michael1148humphris says:

    I do hope that he does not confuse the archaeologist’s in the future

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    Jurassic Park on a rooftop. Good fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyn says:

    No, Eric, somehow I don’t think I want to see what those mosquitoes feed on, I really don’t πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. James says:

    Living high above the critters. Hope they don’t find a way in.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yarnspinnerr says:

    Brilliantly done in your inimitable style.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love that this is a roof garden! So funny that the mosquito was so huge and I can only imagine the look on his friends’ faces when he said, “Just wait until you see what these monsters feed upon!” Hahahaha! I think I would cut my visit very short! LOL! Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Chris C. says:

    For a moment I thought it was going to end the way The Sound of Thunder did. I’m glad it didn’t! I’d hate to live among such large mosquitoes. Or among dinosaurs, for that matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. There was no sound of thunder, though I’m pleased you’re familiar with the famous Bradbury story. It’s a personal fave. Living among dinosaurs would be a tad more problematic than living among raccoons wouldn’t it? πŸ˜‰ Thanks kindly! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. luckyjc007 says:

    I would be making a quick exit and hoping I made it out alive! That’s one friend that would have to meet on My terms! That way, we could both stay alive!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

