The Greatest Game

The man on the screen wore a heavy-duty parka. Powerful Antarctic winds blew behind him. “How’s are the negotiations going Dr. Hebron?” said American President Aaronsson.

“The Diplomacy Game is always challenging,” said Hebron. “The alien diplomat is difficult.”

“Are you comfortable enough?”

“These Antarctic conditions are awful!”

“Can’t we send someone to help you?”

“No! The Polanti are terribly paranoid creatures. Another human might disrupt everything!”

Dr. Hebron’s ear-translator translated what his counterpart said on his own call to HQ:

The Humans are skittish creatures. I must do this myself!

“How much longer do you think?” said President Aaronsson.

“Uncertain. Many months at least,” warned Hebron.

I cannot say. Humans are difficult. Many nacrons.

When the call concluded, Hebron removed his parka and turned off the screen of blowing winds behind him. The Polanti beside him performed similar changes.

“This is a great game we play,” said the Polanti in the temperature-controlled outpost.

“The Greatest Game,” said Hebron, cradling a pair of dice. “Let’s continue. As I recall, you just landed on Boardwalk, and I own it!”
______________________________________
Written for What Pegman Saw: https://whatpegmansaw.com/2017/07/15/cape-crozier-antarctica/

Author’s Notes:

Monopoly (Game): “Monopoly is a board game that originated in the United States in 1903…”
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monopoly_(game)

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Greatest Game

  1. k rawson says:

    I love an alien who’s game. Creative take on the prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to play Monopoly as a kid. Not with alien diplomats though (well, I think not, anyway… :-))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jmwwriting says:

    Monopoly is fun, but I was hoping they were going to start making out once the cameras are off…maybe I’ve played too much Mass Effect…

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Or perhaps watched too many Bond films. An ending like that did occur to me. As the alien giggled in the background he might’ve said (in Sean Connery’s voice), “Sorry Q, I’m deep in negotiations just now.” 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Joy Pixley says:

    Funny take! To be fair, they weren’t *entirely* lying to their superiors. They are, after all, clearly making progress on finding common ground and establishing a dialogue, and it’s absolutely true that their counterpart would be upset if someone else showed up. Gamus Interruptus: even aliens are sure to be annoyed by that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. The fact that they’re working together so smoothly is actually outstanding news. Instead of “Ping-Pong Diplomacy” it’s Monopoly! Whatever works, right? Thanks so much, Joy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joy Pixley says:

        I hadn’t even thought about ping-pong, nice analogy! Although I seem to remember a lot of arguments starting over Monopoly when I was a child; it might not be the safest bet. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. A delightful take on the prompt. I heard wind whistling through my “translator” ear buds. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great story, Eric. Evocative.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. James says:

    LOL. An alien comes to Earth and is immediately captivated by the board game “Monopoly.”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved this ‘other’ take on the prompt, Eric.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Another one of those… whose universe are we in??? Hmmm

    Liked by 1 person

  10. List of X says:

    Meh. I played Monopoly with alien diplomats – I buy Boardwalk, but they just use a wormhole to go straight through to Start and collect $200.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

