True Birdwatchers

Photo by: C.E. Ayr

Jan and Mark wanted see the world’s rarest bird: the Purple-Headed Nutclutch.

At the rock where the birds nested Mark said, “You see them?”

“Sssh!” hissed a tree. “You’re scaring them!”

“Holy crap! A talking tree!”

The tree waved a branch. “We’re camouflaged humans. I’m Greta Travis.”

Mark stammered. “How did you…?”

“Nanotechnology,” whispered Greta, pointing. “That’s Bill, Nancy, and Carmen. Our skin and limbs are modified to be tree-like.”

Jan whispered. “You’re…naked?”

“True Birdwatchers ain’t modest.”

Jan grasped a tree limb to balance.

“Ah Miss?” giggled Greta. “When a girl holds Brian like that, she usually kisses him first.”
______________________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers: https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/08/09/11-august-2017/

Author’s notes:

Shey and I got pics of a White-Breasted Nuthatch recently:
Nuthatch_0265

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to True Birdwatchers

  1. James says:

    Is that a branch or are you just happy to see me?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, dear! When everything is disguised you have to be verycareful when grabbing. I’d love to see a purple-headed nuthatch myself — closest we come here is a ruby-throated hummer.

    I should forewarn you that I’ve cast you in a starring role for an upcoming FF blog post. Hope you don’t object. (You get to eat a burger and write a song. 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Yah. You can never be certain precisely what that “branch” is. It’s probably best to avoid roots too. 😉 Shey and I got great pics of a White-Breasted Nuthatch while visiting in Illinois. Alas, no talking trees, though. 😉

      I’m looking forward to your story! I’m always happy to eat a burger. 😉

      Thanks Christine! 🙂

      Like

  3. Absolutely brilliant! Thanks for the laugh.

    Click to read my FriFic

    Liked by 1 person

  4. michael1148humphris says:

    O dear I will have to stop hugging trees now.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m too shy to say anything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Funny stuff. Lively dialogue

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Joy Pixley says:

    As soon as I saw the name of the bird they were looking for, I knew something was up. Er, about to happen. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tedstrutz says:

    Now I know why you guys are bird watchers.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nan Falkner says:

    Wow, I am still laughing at this one! Thank you! ha ha ha ha Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love the direction you took this. So much in so little space.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Miles Rost says:

    I love this. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. gahlearner says:

    And why was that branch sticking out, I ask you? Very funny take on the prompt. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. wmqcolby says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAAAA!!!! This was SO hilarious! One thing after the next. You sure it wasn’t the Nutclutcher that did it? E.A., you rock! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pic of White breasted nuthatch is great.
    humans have morphed into trees … a unique idea.
    There was a Chipko movement in India. when trees were hacked down environmentalists(common people) hugged trees to save them from being cut down.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chipko_movement.

    read my post. it is about talking rock. http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/08/re-invent.html

    Liked by 1 person

  15. rgayer55 says:

    Now, this is my kind of story. I sensed there was a reason for the name Nutclutcher. Five stars!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dear Eric,

    Hilarious. You have the most warped sense of humor and I love it!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Susan says:

    Your stories always bring a smile to my face and maybe a bit of a blush in this case.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. List of X says:

    I wonder if a Purple-headed Nutclutch would clutch the nuts off one of these trees.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Liz Young says:

    Very funny story!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. athling2001 says:

    Definitely avid bird-watchers. I can see them dressing as trees and rocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Oh dear, I missed catching that poor bird’s name! Now I don’t feel so bad about the burger you ate in my latest blog post. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Nah, don’t feel bad about the flies I ate. The wings growing out my back are pretty cool. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • It may make you smile to know you are in royal company. I don’t pull stories from the air very often; this particular one, with a couple of twists, comes from an incident where King Edward’s grandson tried to tell him about the worm he saw in grandpa’s peach. But a child back in those days didn’t interrupt adult conversation and he was hushed.
        I twigged young Prince Albert’s last words, which were, “Never mind, Grandpa. You’ve eaten it now.”

        Liked by 1 person

  22. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Oh dear, I will have to be careful next time I go hiking. Very creative take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. subroto says:

    Ha! Ha! There were some wooden references in there but this takes tree huggers to a whole new level. Nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

