Upgrades

Photo by: Al Forbes

Constable Whittaker had served the Manchester police force for twenty years. He still wasn’t used to computers. So he rarely read the police department bulletins in his email box.

He stopped at a new police call box. He opened the door…and gasped. He blinked his eyes hard. What the devil?

He looked outside the box. It was the usual call box size, like a phone booth. Finally, he went inside.

Long corridors stretched before him. At least twenty police officers walked through the expansive entryway.

A Maitre’d greeted him warmly, “Welcome Mr. Whittaker! Here to freshen up?”

“What’s all this, then?”

“Perhaps you missed the memo. Our constabulary is under enormous pressures lately due to the dodgy goings on. So the department invested in stress relief upgrades.”

Whittaker’s hand shook as he pointed. “It’s bigger inside than outside!”

“Our friend The Doctor finally shared his technology with us.”

“Who?”

“Precisely.”

“What’s in here?”

“Showers and workout rooms behind me. Saunas and jacuzzis there. Pub and Snooker tables there.”

“Cor! Next, you’ll tell me there’s an airport here.”

“Airport?”

Whittaker suddenly felt stupid. “Ignore me. Just being silly.”

The Maitre’d pointed. “Airport’s down there and to your left.”
______________________________________
Written for Sunday Photo Fiction: https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2017/08/13/sunday-photo-fiction-august-13th-2017/

Author’s Notes:

Just in case anyone is unfamiliar with Doctor Who: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Who

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Upgrades

  1. Mr. Whittaker seems to be going the Alice in Wonderland way. I wouldn’t like to take this route.

    http://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/08/zanjeer.html

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful story! I assume Whittaker was a deliberate reference? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Here in NZ, ‘Whittakers’ is a brand of chocolate – and one made in my general area at that! πŸ™‚ Great riff on Whovianism! I have to say, i wouldn’t mind my own TARDIS about now…

    Liked by 2 people

    • EagleAye says:

      You know, I think I’ve seen that brand before. It’s funny the reaction I’m getting to the name. I just wanted a very “English” sounding name. I’d like a Tardis too. I could go for a few rounds of snooker. Not many here in the States play it. It’s tough compared to American billiards.

      Like

  4. Great strory Eric. Nice to see the Doctor has finally shared the “Smaller on the Outside” technology.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Brilliant! I had a chuckle at the ‘Who?’ ‘Precisely!’ bit.

    Who’s there? My short story

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jelli says:

    That was a good story. I’m sure many officers wished their departments were so equipped.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ceayr says:

    Amusing as ever, Eric

    Liked by 1 person

  8. James says:

    β€œWho?”

    β€œPrecisely.”

    LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Who? Precisely? What a brilliantly set up pun is that! Superbly crafted and great fun as ever, Eric.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

