A Cute Dog

Jake peered through a gap in the rusted gate. “There it is. That’s the one Mr. Hewitt wants.”

Anthony looked after him. It played in the back yard. “That’s the cutest dog I’ve ever seen!”

“Yeah, it’s even got it’s own Facebook page with millions of followers.”

“So Hewitt hired you to snatch it?”

“Uh huh. That evil man has made me do some horrible stuff I’d rather forget, but this I can handle.”

The two watched the dog, waiting for their moment to move. A squirrel sprang into the yard. In a blink, something astonishing happened.

An enormous frog-like tongue shot out of the dog’s mouth. Slimy tentacles at the tongue’s end expanded and gripped the squirrel. Rows of razor sharp pincers along the tentacles began dismembering the still screaming animal. After reducing the hapless squirrel to hamburger, the tongue dragged the bloody gobbets into dog’s tiny mouth.

Anthony vomited. Jake looked pale and shaken, but he prepared a net to capture the dog.

“Are you kidding me?” whined Anthony. “That is NOT a cute dog.”

“Yeah,” grinned Jake. “But I hate Hewitt, and I can’t wait until that jackass gives it kisses!”
__________________________________
Written for FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER: https://flashfictionforthepracticalpractitioner.wordpress.com/2017/08/31/flash-fiction-for-the-purposeful-practitioner-2017-week-34/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Cute Dog

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    That is certainly a dog with the kiss of death!!! Sometimes ….cute is only skin deep. Mr. Hewitt will learn the hard way. Jake better collect his pay immediately! LOL’s (a story some employees would dream about)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m thinking Mr Hewitt’s no dummy and has his own plans for what that talented dog can do. Or maybe he wanted rid of Jake?
    But what a cute dog at the end, all bathed and blow-dried. Is it really alive?

    Liked by 2 people

    • EagleAye says:

      It could be so. Perhaps the dog will become another one of Mr. Hewitt’s assassins? I’m not sure if that is a real dog. It’s just a pic I found. Those super-cute dogs never look real to me. 😉 Thanks Christine! 🙂

      Like

  3. Wonderful twist! Yeah, Hewitt’s going to get a really big surprise this time! Muahahahaha! Incidentally, apropos that fluffy dog pic – I have a theory about little yappy dogs. I suspect there’s a kind of critical point, and when they get into a REALLY big paroxysm of yapping, they explode and all that’s left is a kind of waft of dog hair drifting to the ground. I haven’t seen it happen, but it has to be plausible…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joy Pixley says:

    The photo at the bottom is the icing on the cake, LOL! Yeah, I’m with Christine — I worry that Mr. Hewitt knows exactly what he’s asked Jake to retrieve, and has downright dastardly plans for what to do with that dog.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan says:

    Loved the story, and that is one evil looking dog. s/he will win you over with cuteness then bite your toes off.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. decades ago I had a little toy-dog in my glass show-case ( the same as in the photo) and I shudder to think that such cute dogs are capable of cannibalism.A good story with an unexpected twist.
    https://ideasolsi65.blogspot.in/2017/09/justice.html

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great story, but I always love your stories!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. athling2001 says:

    Great story. Funny twist. No, not a cute dog at all!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

