Media Genius

Photo by: Douglas M. MacIlroy

Bob Smith’s Youtube videos on proper care of pet birds all went viral.  Videos on bird care weren’t new. The format was. “Piper the bird” delivered the entire narration while being held by Bob. Bob never appeared which made the videos even funnier. Bob was hailed as a media genius.

Bob declined any on camera videos, responding only via email.

At home, Bob was drunk and asleep…again. Piper the bird opened Skype on the computer.

Another bird answered the Skype call, “Let’s continue. Humans appear convinced. How long did it take to build that lifelike human hand to hold you?”
_____________________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers: https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/10/11/6-october-2017/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Media Genius

  1. Dale says:

    Ha ha! Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. James says:

    Ha. I knew it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Varad says:

    Yup! Waited for that last line to come. Good one, per usual, EA.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyn says:

    Well, I have to admit, Eric, I didn’t see that end coming. I was looking more for some sort of collaboration between Bob and the bird. I mean birds have been around for a lot of years and would have seen a lot of things to hand down from generation to generation 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. On a different day, in a different mood, the collaboration might’ve happened. Birds are amazingly smart. I’ve seen videos of Crows solving some tricky puzzles. You never know what birds might be doing. 😉 Thanks Lyn! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Iain Kelly says:

    Clever birds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Eric,

    The bird and his pet man. Love the story and the image of the birds on Skype. Hilarious.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  7. granonine says:

    Oh, this is wonderful. Great story, still smiling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bbryanthomas says:

    A story with a neat angle

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Twisted. Definitely twisted. 😉 Bob needs to get a cat to restore order there.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. pennygadd51 says:

    Nice story EagleAye
    My cats have definitely trained me (I’ve always got to get home by four o’clock to feed them) – and I reckon birds could do the same. You know, I thought there was something wrong with that hand in the photo…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joetwo says:

    Here I was thinking if any animal was going to control the internet I would be a cat. Good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    Ha, very funny take on the prompt. Loved the idea of birds Skyping.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. rgayer55 says:

    Dear Eric,

    Perhaps a better question would be, “How long did it take you to train that stupid human?”
    Great story, buddy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It was only a matter of time. Based on U.S. news, some humans seem to be devolving.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I’d agree. Some of the the things spoken on some “news” channels indicate a shrinking of the cerebral cortex. Who knows? Maybe some day birds will teach us to say, “Billy want a Bud Lite!” 😉 Thanks for stopping in. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I’m now wondering what I’m going to find when I switch on Skype later tonight. Got to hand it to you, that’s great!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

