Saving the World

Urglaudoo regretted his reports about Humans after staying a month in Mauritius. The island population was ethnically mixed, and living comfortably together. The hotel owner and her four-year old joined him. “This is Pina,” said Adonya, smiling. “Someday she’ll save the world!”

Urglaudoo smiled wanly, looking Human except for his pupils. He made one last call to stop the sterilization order. Moments later, General Pongradee teleported in. “Urglaudoo! Your reports…”

“A mistake,” said Urglaudoo. “Humans are worth saving.”

Adonya returned with a savory mix of Creole and Indian foods. As Pongradee ate with relish, tiny Pina climbed into his lap. “Your eyes are pretty.”

“But they’re alien,” protested Pongradee.

“That’s nice,” she smiled, and fell asleep.

An hour later, Pongradee returned Pina to her mother and teleported back.

“I think your incredible food changed his mind,” smiled Urglaudoo.

Adonya grinned. “No. I told you. Someday Pina will save the world!”
_________________________________
Written for What Pegman Saw: https://whatpegmansaw.com/2017/10/14/mauritius/

Author’s Notes:

I confess to knowing very little about the Indian Ocean island of Mauritius when I started. I did some research, and loved what I found. I like any place that is multi-cultural and Mauritius is one of the best examples of this I’ve ever seen. Below are some of the links I checked out. I want to visit this place someday.
http://www.everyculture.com/Ma-Ni/Mauritius.html
http://www.getaway.co.za/food/25-eat-drink-mauritius/
http://www.discoverthebestofmauritius.com/anglais/culture-in-mauritius/mauritius-and-religions/religious-culture-in-mauritius-a.html?lang=fr

Mauritius Food: Farata
“This is similar to Indian paratha – a flat bread eaten with curry. It’s buttery, doughy and delicious. Find them being sold at street stalls or in many Mauritian and Indian restaurants.”

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Saving the World

  1. Who knew her moment of victory would come so soon. Another great flash, Eric.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love this. Reminds me a little of Lilo and Stitch where the aliens protected the humans because they thought the mosquito was an endangered species!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. k rawson says:

    Great story and homage. I, too, didn’t know about Mauritius–but have become smitten too. The tidbits you uncovered make it even more compelling.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Joy Pixley says:

    Saved the world already! What will she do for an encore? Well, she could start by bringing me some of that delicious-looking food. That would save my day, at the very least!

    Sweet story; Eric.

    Liked by 3 people

    • EagleAye says:

      I know. I’ve been trying to save the world for years and never managed that much. *sigh* Some folks just “got it.” πŸ˜‰ I’ve have them send some food out to you straightaway. Thanks Joy!

      p.s. You’re staying out of range of those fires, right?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joy Pixley says:

        So far the fires haven’t come too dangerously close. They’re worst in the northern part of the state, and I’m down in Orange County. We did have one bad one that was big enough I could see it on the mountains from my place, and it affected the air quality pretty badly. Some of my coworkers’ homes were threatened and they had to evacuate, but luckily not many homes were lost. Now, up in Sonoma it’s a different story. Terrible news for them, and it’s nowhere near over yet.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. James says:

    Food and little children will save the world. Sounds like a winning combination.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. A real feel-good story! And the world really needs saving about now. I know nothing about Mauritius either, their cuisine sounds amazing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • EagleAye says:

      It certainly does. We may indeed need a child to save us all. πŸ˜‰ Yeah, I wanna try their food. The mix of French, Indian, and Creole sounds fascinating. Thanks Matthew! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. pennygadd51 says:

    I really enjoyed that story. You made the alien credible. I love the idea that Pina thought General Pongradee’s eyes were pretty!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Lyn says:

    Out of the mouths of babes. Little kids get straight to the point and see the important things. Love the story, Eric πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Dear Eric,

    And a little child shall lead them. Lovely story.

    This reminded me of an incident years ago when I worked in a grocery. One of the cashiers, also named Rochelle, was African American. I was chatting with her one day at her register when a customer came through with a little boy. She told him we were twins because she were both named Rochelle. He said, “No you’re not.” Pointing out that she had long flashy fingernails and I didn’t. If only we could all look through the eyes of a child.

    As always, I’m late for Pegman. Hope you’ll swing by the purple page. πŸ˜‰

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 6 people

    • EagleAye says:

      That is a great story! I love it. Children are so practical-minded. They haven’t learned to muddy the waters yet. Thanks Rochelle!

      Liked by 1 person

    • prior.. says:

      I have to chime in – if you don’t mind – because in the 1990s – when I was newly married – people would usually ask me if my last name of Prior was spelled with a “y”- like Richard – and I’d say – no – with an – but we richard and I are related. “it goes way back” – and folks would laugh…

      Liked by 2 people

  10. prior.. says:

    wonderful piece – “Humans are worth saving.” – ahhh
    and the paratha sounds delish

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a delightful idea. Sweet children and good food saving the world (especially if the food is as good as that picture makes it look.) Alicia

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dahlia says:

    I can’t help but think it’s the food that changed his mind and Pina’s compliment about his eyes πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

