Natural Model – YeahWrite Summer Grid

Natural Model

When the starship bound for a technical conference developed a power failure, we made landfall on the closest settled planet. It would take a week to repair the fault, but in that time I learned an ingenious production model.

Nearly every starship or city grid uses a power source called, “Helicons.” Trillions of people on 27 planets depend on them. As it happens, they’re only created on the planet we were stranded on, Pyramedes. A scientific reporter by trade, I was immediately curious to learn how Helicons were produced. When I requested an interview with the operations manager at Helicon Power Systems, they accepted with little presuasion.

Bob Campos didn’t look much like an operations manager. His hair was long and gray, tied in braids with colorful streamers. He wore sandals and a tie-dyed tee-shirt. Hardly what one would expect from an energy company, but one he began speaking, it all became clear. “We use a Natural Model here for production,” he explained. “Nature’s system of stressing organisms, of creating balance through competitive conflict, creates the most efficient system of production.”

“How does that work?”

Campos scratched his head. “The production part isn’t so hard. Helicons are actually the seed of the plant, Heliconiva.” He pointed outside the window at huge fields of knee-high plants. “Since Pyramedes is tidally locked, this particular valley gets sunlight 24/7. There’s little cloud cover. All that sunpower goes straight into the seeds for a very high energy concentration. The problem comes in at harvesting.”

“Is it dangerous?”

“No, it’s expensive. The seeds are protected by a very dense shell. It would cost billions to make the machinery to strip it off. So we decided to go with bio-engineering instead.”

The obvious question was answered by Bob introducing me to “Capo,” who happens to be a bio-engineered dog. Capo is quite intelligent and his paws were modified to function easily as hands. When I arrived at Capo’s cubicle, I noticed a copy of “Moby Dick” on a reader beside his computer. Capo was watching video of a white rabbit running through the Heliconiva.

“That’s the one,” said Capo, pointing with a furry finger at image of a large white rabbit. Capo’s canine face was quite expressive, and it showed distinct signs of mania. “Ten years I’ve been trying to catch him. Somehow, he eludes me. I’m watching camera footage to learn his moves.”

“Interesting. So what do you do here?”

“Catch rabbits of course! They love to eat the Helicons. Without me and the other dogs, rabbits would eat up all the company profits! We’re full company employees, you know. I’ve got a company ID, medical benefits, and most importantly a profit-sharing plan. Every seed they eat is less money for my retirement.”

“How often do you catch them?”

“Oh about three or four a day. They breed like…well…rabbits, you know. The deal with the company is, we get one free meal a day. So unless we want to pay for the rest, we live on what we catch. Works for me, you know. Fresh rabbit meat is divine. You should try it!”

“So about this rabbit…”

“Moby Rabbit!”

“Uh, Moby. Why is it so important to catch him?”

“Because he tasks me! He tasks me! I’ve caught them all, brown, brown and gray, brown speckled, but never him. You see this?” He pointed to his scarred ear, “And this? And this? All wounds he given me from his claws. That devil needs to pay.”

I spent another hour with Capo and returned to Campos’ office. “Capo is on the verge of a nervous breakdown,” I said.

Campos shook his head. “They’re all like that. After many generations, the dogs are pretty fanatic hunters.”

“But it seems you’ve got a rabbit problem. Sonic repellants could cure that overnight.”

“Nope. The rabbits are our bio-engineered rabbits. The most efficient way to strip off a helicon shell is in the rabbit’s stomach. The husk is the only thing they can eat by design. Later they poop out a pristine, shelled Helicon, ready for use. Lots of rabbits insures efficient collection. Then the dogs keep rabbits from overeating the Helicons before they’re ripe. A natural, efficient balance.”

Confused, I said, “But Capo thinks rabbits are eating up the profits.”

Campos hesitated. “We, ah…don’t tell them,” he murmured.

“Why not?”

“Like I said earlier. We follow the Natural Model. Efficiency through natural competition. He’s already got medical and a retirement plan. If he knew the truth, he might demand a raise!”
_________________________________________
Okies, I’m new to the Summer Series, but it seems to work much like the Speakeasy. I’ll keep folks informed as a learn more about it. For now, this is for the Summer Series, and I hope I followed the instructions properly. Look for more stories rights here: http://yeahwrite.me/summer-series-170/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Natural Model – YeahWrite Summer Grid

  1. Lyn says:

    I think Campos is right. It would be unwise to tell the dogs. It would cause a nasty chain reaction… dogs find out…dogs demand a raise (an extra meal)…dogs get extra meal…dogs don’t hunt the rabbits…rabbits overrun the fields and eat all the Helicons…no profits…no fuel…the whole socio-ecconomic system fails. A natural disaster of the highest order. Eric, you’re a financial genius! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Yup! Better to let the dogs follow the natural order even if it’s not exactly true. The chain reaction you describe is quite possible. So what if the dogs don’t know the whole story. They’re quite happy chasing rabbits and building their retirement portfolio. πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much, Lyn. You’ve given me a smile too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. tnkerr says:

    Oh yeah. Well done. Liked it.

    Like

  3. List of X says:

    A raise? How about a robot to scratch them behind the ears? πŸ™‚
    But yeah, not telling is cheaper, but someday these dogs will get smart enough to hack the company network and learn the truth. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! An ear-scratching robot could be an important benefit. Something they might demand if they ever form a union! And I think you’re right, one of those dogs might someday learn Campos’ email password, and then things are gonna get sticky!

      Like

  4. List of X says:

    Also, my professional inclination would be to re-engineer the process to harvest the ripened seeds with shells, deliver them to the rabbit farm, and collect Helicons there rather than look for rabbit poop all over the farms and for extra rabbits. No dogs, no retirement plans – Capo gets a pink slip and 6 month severance in dog food. πŸ™‚
    See, external consultants can spoil even a science fiction story. πŸ™‚ (it’s not exactly what I do, though)

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! I’ve seen consultants spoil other things, why not? πŸ˜‰ If they ever get an efficiency expert in there, he might suggest such a thing.

      But who does the collecting? Currently, the rabbits are doing that nicely. Then Helicon-detecting robots collect the pooped out Helicons. I don’t know, Bob seems happy with the setup as it is, but when the dogs learn it’s just a job, Campos might have to consider your idea. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Another excellent story! The Helicon purification method sounds a bit like Civet coffee (which I’ve never been game, or rich enough, to try…) πŸ™‚

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Figures you’d know that one. Yes indeed, Civet Coffee was my inspiration. In my view, the best science fiction is inspired by real science. Since the digestive tract of animals can be such a powerful chemical furnace, I figure many manufacturing processes could be helped by employing them.

      I haven’t tried Civet Coffee either, and I doubt if I’ll ever have that much money…or that much courage. I’m still working myself up to try Bird Nest Soup. Thanks much Matthew, and thanks for your great knowledge of the natural world. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. habibadanyal says:

    Rabbit poop. Seriously? LOL. this was the cutest, fiction I have read in so many days. And the part about the pay raise was great.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. I like to operate outside the envelope as much as possible.Glad to know you enjoyed it. I was hoping the close would get a chuckle. Thanks much for sharing your impressions! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Was this taken early in the morning? Because they are just so fast are difficult to catch! Beautiful photo!

    Like

  8. Silverleaf says:

    Haha, rabbit poop, civet coffee. Now I’m really laughing. And craving coffee, though not one whose beans have been specially processed πŸ˜‰ I love your view of the world – any world!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Most cool. I love passing on laughter. And if it takes Civet Coffee, so be it! Glad you enjoyed my world for a short time. Thanks so much for visiting! πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Indira says:

    Thanks for writing wonderful story. System is everywhere same’ If they know they might demand a raise. Fantastic.

    Like

  10. Jennifer G. Knoblock says:

    Brilliant and funny and flavored with ouch, all too human messed-up systems.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thank you! At least they’re trying. Modeling a production system after nature isn’t a bad way to go if you ask me. On the other hand, they’re dealing with intelligent dogs. Somewhere, there’s trouble brewing on the horizon. Glad you had a good laugh. Thanks so much for the read, Jennifer!

      Like

  11. ardenrr says:

    Welcome to the summer series!! You’re right, it works very much like the speakeasy and you found the right badge (thank you!) so you’re off to a great start πŸ™‚ The summer series supergrid is just a place for all our challenges (speakeasy, non-fiction challenge grid, and gargleblaster which is micro-nonfiction and micro-fiction). Feel free to also check out our lounges where we are offering constructive criticism on pieces (if you’re into that sort of thing). If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask but you seem to have everything sorted out.

    In regards to your story, I loved it as always. I love how you can create these crazy worlds but just make it seem like a normal day at the office. Well done!

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Thanks Arden! There’s all sorts of crazy worlds living inside my head, all waiting patiently to get out. Well, some are less patient than others. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the read and your comments. πŸ™‚

      About the Summer Series: I went through the whole shopping cart to purchase a Bronze Lounge registration. But when starting from YeahWrite to go to the lounge or even the Coffee House, I just get a little button that says, “Loading.” Then nothing happens after that. Is there something else I should do to enter the Bronze Lounge/Coffee House?

      Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Hmmm. I am not sure. Let me bring in Christine who is our summer series expert and hopefully she can help you out. I’m in the bronze lounge too so I look forward to seeing you! Just so you know, week one is fully underway so don’t get overwhelmed by the numerous threads that are happening. You can always jump in next week when we post new stuff if that suits you better πŸ™‚

        Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Hello again! So I asked the crew and they said this happens to them sometimes as well. Was this your first time trying to get in? It may just take a bit to load. Please let me know though if the problem persists and I’ll try to work some voodoo magic πŸ™‚

        Like

      • EagleAye says:

        Yeah, I’ve tried a bunch of times. I’ve tried on many different days. So, do I need to go out and buy a live chicken for the voodoo magic? πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Are you wickblue7?

        Like

      • EagleAye says:

        Yup! That’s me.

        Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Awesome – I think the problem is that it’s a yahoo email that is registered and we’re using Google Groups as our platform. It most likely requires you to have a gmail account to log in. Hope that isn’t a problem!

        Like

      • EagleAye says:

        Okies. I’ll try it again with gmail and see what happens.

        Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Thanks! Sorry for the inconvenience!

        Like

      • EagleAye says:

        Bummer! It’s still doing it. What am I missing?

        Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Son of a biscuit!!! Let me check back with Christine. I’m so sorry about this!

        Like

      • EagleAye says:

        No worries. πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

        Like

      • ardenrr says:

        Okay! I think we have it figured out πŸ™‚ Can you send me your gmail address to arden at yeah write dot me? I should be able to manually add you to the group!

        Like

  12. Makes me think that I could be the dog, doing something because “they” told me I had to.

    Like

  13. Jen says:

    I always love reading your stories! They are so inventive and fun!

    Like

  14. I loved this! Simply loved it. I think it is my favorite of all your stories I have read so far. πŸ™‚ This was so much fun and creative.

    Like

    • EagleAye says:

      Oh that’s great! I wanted a story that’s fun. Glad to know it worked. I hope I can keep raising the bar. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate it. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy. Say something!