The Grain Earth

“Cereal Dust Bowl” by Carl Warner

In Cereal Land, Barley was unpopular. Everyone hated his corny jokes. Barley couldn’t help it. It was his “Raisin” D’etre.

Strawberryhead arrived with a shotgun. He growled, “I’ve been contracted to kill you, you flake.”

“Don’t!” cried Barley. “I’ll make a bran new start!”

“Too late. I must. I’m a cereal killer.”
_____________________________

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Grain Earth

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    ((groan)) Well, if you’re going to go there, go all the way. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LRose says:

    There’s a special place in heaven, where the rim-shots ring out…

    Liked by 3 people

  3. tnkerr says:

    Do you guys see how fast that truck seems to be pulling away from the caravan in that picture? It’s obviously a loaf or death situation. He must have seen the muffins in the oven.
    There were two muffins in there and one says, “Damn, it’s hot!”
    The other says, “Jeeze, a talking muffin!”
    I’ll stop now before I start to get bulger.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. luckyjc007 says:

    Wow! Poor Barley just couldn’t get a break. First he was going to be drowned by Milk, then the cereal killer steps in and he still gets eliminated!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. The Voice says:

    Fortified with 8 essential puns and metaphors. Part of this balanced breakfast.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Cereal PUNishment! Aaaaaaaaaaargh! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. c2avilez says:

    Oh, this prompt was made for you! Well done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!