The Family – Mondays Finish the Story

Photo by: Barbara W. Beacham

The Family

“The family had no idea that little Luigi would grow up to be a butcher,” sighed Mr. Buckley, pointing at the old photo. “He was just a pu..ah…a toddler there. Whole family was scandalized. Everyone expected him to join the family business of…uh…Financing and Loans.”

Mr. Buckley’s antique store was a welcome stop after John and Megan’s many hours of driving. Buckley was very old but still quite sprightly with a full head of wild gray hair.

Buckley continued saying, “Turned out okay though. Luigi had a knack for disappearing family problems.”

Megan shot John a warning look. John missed it. Instead, he noticed what Buckley nibbled on as he reminisced.

“Ah! This old family picture brings me back. None of ’em smiled. They didn’t want nobody seeing their fa…ah…their bad teeth.”

John suddenly made their excuses and they left the store.

“Oh! I wanted out of there so bad,” groused Megan. “They’re The Mob!”

“That’s not what spooked me,” shuddered John.

“What?”

“The family didn’t show their ‘fa…teeth,'” mimicked John.

Megan’s eyes bugged out. “You mean like…”

“Did you notice he nibbled on dog biscuits?”
________________________________
Written for Monday’s Finish the Story. Each week we get a photo prompt and the first sentence of the story. This week, the first sentence is, β€œThe family had no idea that little Luigi would grow up to be…” Look here to see what others wrote: https://mondaysfinishthestory.wordpress.com/2015/08/24/mondays-finish-the-story-august-14th-2015/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Family – Mondays Finish the Story

  1. tedstrutz says:

    Dammit, Eric! You stole my line. Well, actually you just beat me using it. Very clever take with the fang thing as to why they were not smiling. But I was going to make him a real butcher with a shop in Chicago. Maybe I still will.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Oops! Sorry Ted. Brilliant minds, you know. πŸ˜‰ I think still run with your idea. Why not? Your idea will still be a lot of fun, and possess your own particular flavor. I’m looking forward to it. Glad you enjoyed this one. Thanks Ted! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh… my… I would have hightailed it out of there, too!!! Where your mind goes, simply amazes me! Loved this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good shrouding there ’til toward the end. And even then, until the dog biscuits, I was thinking vampire.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joetwo says:

    Financing and loans? I can’t say I’m surprised, the bankers do seem to make a dog’s dinner of everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Werewolves! That’s what they are – werewolves! Financing and Loans would be a fitting occupation. Haha! Great story Eric!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. babso2you says:

    Well done again oh WordMaster! Fa…indeed! πŸ™‚ Thanks for adding another great story to the lineup! Be well my friend… ^..^

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Enjoyed your take, the dog biscuits would only matter if you were of the dog chewing kind…..love the mystery you created.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Werewolves!? I like that they show the only family photos to strangers. I wonder what happens to those who stick around longer in the store…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. afairymind says:

    I was thinking they were vampires until the ‘dog biscuits’! Great story. πŸ™‚ I think I would have been getting out of there as quickly as I could, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. Yeah, the dog biscuits were the final tipoff. The first one was when Buckley he almost called young Luigi a “pup.” He said “he was just a pu…ah…toddler.” I would’ve bailed on that situation fast too. Too rich for my blood. πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh so clever…do you ever smile in your photos?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lyn says:

    financing and loans? hmmm…that sounds incredibly like, “yes, we’ll loan you the money, but if you don’t pay up…” I’m thinking there won’t be much need for buying bones from the butcher shop πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Haha! Yeah, if you don’t pay your “fee” they can really take a “bite” out of your personal life. πŸ˜‰ I don’t thing there was a Food & Drug Administration (FDA) at the time, so who knows what folks were getting from the butcher. :/ Yikers!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Well, Eric, that was creepy. What a great ending. O_o I would have run out also. I’m just glad for them that he was well fed. Well written. πŸ˜€ — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!

