A Myth Returned

Photo by: Carla Bicomong

In Holder Bay, people sincerely believed a mermaid lived in the waters. Every year they held a lantern festival, hoping to hear her song once more.

Becka placed her phone in the lantern to guard it from sand. “The ringtone plays Enya,” she told Bruce. “So magical!”

They chatted for a while then wandered down the beach. Behind them, true believers launched every lantern they could find. Everyone watched in silence, listening. And then a sweet, lovely voice drifted across. “It’s her!” called a man. “The mermaid is here!”

Down the beach, Becka said, “Call my phone again. It’s here somewhere!”
________________________________
Written for the Friday Fictioneers: https://rochellewisoff.com/2018/08/22/24-august-2018/

Author’s Notes:

I imagine the mermaid/ringtone sounded something like this…
Enya – Storms in Africa

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Myth Returned

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    Haha, Enya the mermaid – love it 🙂

    Like

  2. abhiray59 says:

    Phone was on the boat?

    Like

  3. Vivian Zems says:

    Love the twist in this… funny!

    Like

  4. Dale says:

    I was afraid her cell would end up floating with the rest…
    Wonderful take!

    Like

  5. Hope Beka found her phone and wasn’t mobbed in mistake for a mermaid! All Enya’s stuff is amazing – precisely a mermaid sound! My favourite is ‘Orinoco Flow’, which oddly enough uses the ‘Louie Louie’ chord progression in reverse.

    Like

  6. granonine says:

    Mermaid Enya. Yup, works for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ha ha ha, true believers will believe anything.

    Like

  8. draliman says:

    Heh! Ooh, ooh, the mermaid’s singing Orinoco Flow, I hope she does Book of Days next… 🙂

    Like

  9. subroto says:

    Ha! Ha! Nice! Could have been a rap artist ringtone. Now that would make for a mermaid with street cred.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. pennygadd51 says:

    We humans are all too inclined to believe what we want to believe. I enjoyed the very gently humorous way you pointed that out with your story.
    Nice one!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s funny how easily people are duped. But, on the other hand it brought them such joy, so what the heck.

    Like

  12. Dear Eric,

    A mermaid who sounds like Enya? Works for me. Love the ending line. As always you make me laugh.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  13. 4963andypop says:

    Funny. You totally had me going. Alas, an Android Mermaid.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. trentpmcd says:

    Well, Enya does have the other-worldly voice, so I guess it rings true. And rings. And.. Damn, where is that phone?

    Liked by 1 person

  15. lisarey1990 says:

    I love this piece and the song too.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. jillyfunnell says:

    Enya as a mermaid? Of course! My favourite is her version of “I Dreamt I Dwelt in Marble Halls”. She does have just that ethereal sound I would associate with a mythical being. Great fun story.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. A magical tale, I love mermaids! =)

    Liked by 1 person

  18. gahlearner says:

    Hehehe. This is too funny. I hope the phone wasn’t too expensive.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!