Running From The…

Photo by: Matthew Wright

Drew looked down the line of beautifully preserved old cars at a festival in New Zealand. They reminded him of the first car he ever owned in 1928. He sighed wistfully. He’d loved that car. As he looked down the road between the cars, he saw…him. He was dressed in black with a broad-brimmed hat just like always. He walked slowly, languidly as though his eventual success were inevitable.

Drew felt a familiar trembling in his legs. He’d run from this man before. Drew ran from him at the Battle of Hastings. He’d ran at Thermopylae. He’d run again. He darted down the street. His speed slowly increased until he ran faster that world-record sprinter, Usain Bolt. His vision began to blur and he lost consciousness. He awoke, sitting in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. Just like always, he had no idea how he got there.

Back in Napier, New Zealand, the man in black stopped beside a man in white Hindu clothing. “This is really getting old, Parsephilus,” said the man in black.

“For the thousandth time, I’m sorry, Ankou,” said Parsephilus.

“Well you’re his guardian angel,” groused Ankou. “Did you talk to him?”

“I did. I told him the truth.”

“Why tell the truth? Nobody ever believes that! Tell him he’ll get 72 virgins. That works great.”

“Yeah, if you’re young, horny, and stupid.”

Ankou sighed. “I still can’t believe you cast THAT spell.”

“It was a typo!”

“I saw your spellbook. That was chili you spilled on it.”

“It was an accident,” groaned Parsephilus. “I just wanted to protect him from the Devil.”

Ankou (also known as the Grim Reaper) leaned against a sign. “Yeah, now instead of outrunning the Devil, he can outrun Death!”
__________________________
Author’s Notes:

In Celtic mythology, Ankou was the figure of Death: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_%28personification%29#Celtic

Written for Matthew Wright’s Mega Short-Story writing challenge. Find the original prompt right here: https://mjwrightnz.wordpress.com/2015/09/29/this-weeks-mega-short-story-challenge-11/

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Running From The…

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    Hm, now I’m wondering what “truth” Parsephilus told him!

    This spell he used sounds familiar. By any chance does it work on goats too?
    https://talesofeneana.wordpress.com/2015/07/02/maralo-and-the-goat-a-star-story/

    Like

  2. Lyn says:

    Oh this went in such a different direction to what I had been expecting–so, so different my friend. Your ability to have me chasing after ‘phantoms’ is amazing. I’m visualizing CIA or maybe MI5 and you give me the grim reaper. I so look forward to reading your posts every day 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Hehe. You keep me on my toes. It’s not easy to trick you clever readers and keep you on your toes. I gotta bring my A-game. 😉 And likewise I always enjoy reading your thoughts. Thanks so much, Lyn! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lyn says:

    P/S You also had me thinking reformed vampire and vampire hunter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. List of X says:

    I don’t know why Ankou even bothers. If he wants what’s his, he should get a sniper.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joetwo says:

    Oh man! You should have used Small Caps for when Death spoke.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be shy. Say something!

